Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Telling on myself - 2006-06-29

I'm grateful for: an exciting outing; staying balanced (mostly); it being a little cooler today

Today John is home sick. Which adds to an otherwise difficult day, but so far I've survived. ;-) It's almost 6pm now. When I woke up it was cooler than it has been (oven, but not blast furnace) so I thought I would be able to do a bit more, or at least feel a bit better. *sigh*

The sick kids were feeling a bit better, not all better. No one was up to helping me walk to the makolet (local grocery store) so we ended up, all four kids and me, driving to the kenyone (mall) instead. The car was here because John is home sick. So it all dovetails.

I brought the wheelchair to walk behind. I use it as a walked, and then when I can't walk any longer I can sit in it and be pushed. It got unbearably hot quickly. Still, there was a sale with t-shirts outside the (expensive) clothing store for 10 shekel each (that's about $2-2.50). Simcha's watch was taken to the jeweler to have the crystal replaced. I made it upstairs to the Kiriya (city offices) to pay the arnona (city taxes & water bill), and to the health food store for things my family loves like puffed rice with no sugar or crap added, whole wheat elbow pasta, and Gorilla Munch cereal.

It was delightful to get to the stores that I can't usually reach, and to get things done that I haven't done before (I've never paid the arnona myself, always had to send it with someone else). I got groceries at the supermarket there, which has (I think this is obvious) a larger selection than the local grocery. It was a huge treat. Long before we headed home Hans, who was still sick, was too tired to go on. He found shady places to rest while the rest of us soldiered on. At the supermarket I overdid something, and in addition to the M.S. fatigue and balance problems I had some really bad pain in my left foot.

Still, I made it back out to the car. Everything got loaded in and we drove home. Where I collapsed and sagged like a wet washcloth. The heat really is less today, but as I said, that means merely baking here. The kids got all the groceries inside, put the freezer/refrigerator items away, and didn't clear the table, but I certainly am not complaining.

The other thing I managed to do today is to read some of the first Animorphs book to my 6yo, Eliyahu. It is so very exciting for him, he loves it. It's a great way to distract him from driving his siblings crazy. They are too sick to deal with him right now - and the heat affects everyone's patience, of course.

John and I are - well, *I* am mostly avoiding him. It is not a pleasant way to live, but it is certainly better than it was as of last week this time (it was a week ago today he gave my wheelchair the push at the head of the stairs.)

In theory this the night John and I spend together, working on our relationship (every Thursday night for years, we avoid the kids). He hasn't said anything about going out or spending time together. I am certainly not volunteering for it. I wonder what will happen? If he could just announce he's too sick to do anything, I would feel free to invite my 20yo daughter to go out with me for a night of having fun. I may do it anyway, but I feel that my keeping my side of the street clean is not shutting the door on any attempt at communication he might make. Not that I expect he will.

I read all the emails in my inbox. I just can't seem to respond to them.

I'm going to eat some supper (John made falafel from scratch, one of the best suppers) and find out what happens next.

Oy, I've been thinking about drinking. Not really a surprize, but nothing serious - I'm just aware that the thoughts are there and telling on myself as I need to.

I'm listening to family chatter at supper

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06