Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Tired again but still typing - 2006-07-16

I am grateful for: Shabbos; time spent with my family; getting some of myself back

It's the middle of the night, just about fifteen minutes after midnight now. I am so very tired.

It's my body. It's crap. And the heat. I need to sleep so I can get up in the morning and go to a meeting with someone regarding starting a business and moving up north. Heh.

We'd made the appointment before all this trouble started. Obviously.

Still, it won't last forever, and our plans/hopes for getting out of Ginot and starting a new life haven't gone away. It's just obvious that it can't happen right away.

One nice thing about shabbos is that we get a break from all of the bad news. Of course, then afterwards we catch up on what we missed, and that it pretty hard today. I shouldn't say that, since I actually haven't seen the news yet. I heard from Havva that an Israeli ship was fired on. Also, apparently an Egyptian ship by Hizbullah. I bet they are not very happy right now.

Also, the rockets didn't stop just because of the sabbath. I'll have to make non-specific prayers until I can sit in front of the computer and catch up.

Jessica told me she doesn't follow the news, and I totally understood. When my kids were very little (twenty years ago), I didn't have time, or energy, to be bothered with the world outside of my family. Being raised to believe that 'responsible' people always kept abreast of what was happening, and were informed, and wouldn't ever Choose to be ignorant of the news it was rather harder for me to accept at first that while I was rearing small children (say, under the age of five), I just had to let the world turn without me. I had to trust that even if I wasn't being politically active and informed that everything would be okay. Then I had to justify it to myself again. And again.

So when Jessica said she doesn't follow the news I just said 'of course.' And it made me realize that following the news as I have been is a luxury I didn't have for a whole bunch of years - more than a decade. And here I am, back, doing what I did before small children took over my life way back when.

I think that is so cool.

Today was difficult and fun. Difficult with my body being in a complete state of revolt, fun in the times I was able to be with various members of my family.
While John was reading an Animorphs book to the two youngest. While Havva was just hanging out, reading a book and giving me little news briefs of what was passing through her head. When Zechy came in briefly to lie at the foot of my bed before going to take a nap ...

I played some games on the computer, and answered a few emails. Not very many. I moaned about my state and moaned about moaning about it. I am so sick of complaining about all of my physical problems. Argh!

I read some of my little Hebrew beginning readers. They are interesting for learning the language, because they assume that you already have the spoken language (little kids) but need to learn the skill of reading it. It's not necessarily easy vocabulary, but the words are all easy to spell/recognize/sound out. It's kind of fun. More fun than reading the Hebrew version of the See Spot Run books for sure. If they have them here.

Anyway, there's a whole lot I would like to write about here. Like when Eliyahu went into the bedroom to change and didn't shut the door, and then called out to John to please shut the door because he didn't have anything covering his privates. Too incredibly cute.

We watched The Butcher's Wife - one of my all-time favourite movies. It's been watched so much the video tape is stretching I think. I guess I'll have to try and find it on dvd. Not the easiest task in Israel. Havva wants Good Will Hunting as well. So if anyone happens to have a spare copy of either of those movies, you know where they could find a good home. Just kidding. Okay, 1/2 kidding. *grin*

I really have to stop and lie down. Please, Hashem, let today be a better body day. Maybe that's not the most important thing to be praying for at the moment, but it is the thing I am finding most overwhelming.

I am listening to Eliyahu snoring, neighbours talking loudly, and two fans.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06