Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Truer than anything else - 2006-07-18

I'm grateful for: good company; sleeping in; electrical power for my computer and fan

I'm just waking up, it's eleven am. I didn't sleep well again, or enough. Yesterday was a hard day. My body is at a really low point. I got up to go to the bathroom, had to hose off in the shower, and then had to take a nap from the exertion. Twice, at least.

I have an appointment with a gyn for tomorrow. Which means of course I will now stop bleeding. I just need to make an appointment every month for about a week after the bleeding starts, and I will have regular periods. Wouldn't that be a great plan.

I've decided I am sick and tired of all the people, mostly men, who want their lives to be completely free of the 'mess' of bodies, women's bodies in particular. Bodies are messy. Get over it. In fact, okay, forget it. It's not even worth a minor rant, I haven't the energy.

After an extremely slow and somewhat disappointing start yesterday (I hate being this fatigued), a friend phoned and asked if we'd like them to come over. Malkie and Shlomo and their three kids Nadiv, Ra'aya and Hadar all came over and that changed the whole tone of the day.

I was still a basket case physically, but we talked, and talked, and talked... I did a *lot* of the talking, a sign that I have not been spending enough time with adults I can talk to. Malkie didn't seem to mind.

Nadiv is a boy, older than Eliyahu but the had a terrific time playing together the whole visit. Hada and Ra'aya are little girls, two and five. They spent almost the whole visit clinging to Malkie, although they did wander off with Simcha once or twice.

John came home and they stayed for supper, which last night was baked fish, mashed potatoes, an American salad (you know, lettuce, tomatoes, cucumber and so on), garlic bread. All of it was delicious, and John got many compliments.

He almost always gets complimented on supper Monday nights, but he seems to not take it in usually. He acted last night like getting compliments was a rare thing, maybe because of the company? Or maybe he's just being - whatever it is John is. When you compliment someone over and over and they never take it in or seem to even recognize the fact, you get tired after a while. It's an effort to give compliments sometimes because I know it will be as if I said nothing at all. The only thing which keeps me doing it is knowing that I need to for my own peace of mind. HIS low self-esteem is not my responsibility.

Malkie and Shlomo and family stayed until nine o'clock or maybe even after. It was really wonderful, although completely exhausting. The rest of the night I wasn't good for anything, either. And I couldn't fall asleep, was up until after 2am, although I wasn't able to do anything. Sometimes being disabled is just boring.

John made popcorn and we watched about half an hour of an old Jackie Chan movie which I think is titled Rumble in Hong Kong but I can't swear to it. It has Hebrew subtitles, but that doesn't matter. There's no plot to speak of. Nothing you can't figure out from the 'action.' It was nice to do something a little brainless and a little fun I guess.

Havva is pulling more extra shifts as the war drags on. So many Israelis (and the rest of the world, too) are surprized that it's taken as long as it has. We've gotten used to wars that last a matter of days, and aren't prepared when things don't work out immediately. It's a fast-food culture that demands immediate satisfaction regardless of whether it is a war or a sandwich. Too bad all our problems can't be resolved in half-an-hour including commercial breaks. But this is real life.

I seem to make that point fairly often in my natterings. People just don't want real life? I don't know. Speaking as someone who had a pretty nasty life, real life is WA-AY better than the alternatives. That's all, don't kid yourself. Even when you don't get what you want in 30 minutes or less.

"Meaning well is no excuse."

I had reason to use that quote last night. It remains truer than anything else I could write here.

So there.

I'm listening to my neighbour's nasty, loud hedge trimmers

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06