Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Satisfied sigh - 2006-07-27

I'm grateful for: knitting again; I don't have to drive at all for three days straight; I can see the chickens from my window

I found myself running away from the empty white box. So I'm back, but with no idea what I am going to type.

I have, of course, been way too busy. I made it to Jerusalem Wednesday, actually woke up in good time and everything. Dropped Maxine and Darryl somewhere past the central bus station after Darryl called out "There it is!" just after we passed it.

After that I figured I might as well drive Neil to his appointment, at which point he revealed that his appointment wasn't until noon. Well, thanks for telling me that sooner! Instead of driving him to wherever he had to meet that rabbi, I drove him to the beit din. Then Zechy, Simcha and I stopped in a music store (no ouds), a toy store where we picked up some gifts for Eliyahu (mazes and stickers) and a gift for Zacheriah, my grandson. There was nothing else there worth picking up, so we came home with lopsided presents.

Then we agreed to go get something to eat, and that turned into a bit of a mess - we drove a long way through Jerusalem without finding a single place to eat. We ended up driving back out to the highway were there is a fast food place next to the gas station we bought gas at. Then turned around, headed back into the city, and tried to find parking by a nice big green park. We had to circle more than once, but then found a legal parking space (one of six). We had a nice picnic, the kids tried to play a bit in the playground, but it was apparently already taken over by other children. There was an icecream stand, and I sat under a tree on the 'grass' and rested. That part of the trip wasn't too bad.

When we went back to the van, Neil had said he would be ready to leave in about half an hour. So I phoned Maxine and left a message (her phone was turned off) saying we were leaving in half an hour and would they be ready. Then a stupid round of telephone tag with Neil, I don't know what was going on with him really, but in the end he decided not to leave with us, but to hang around in the city and look about a little.

Finally Maxine phoned back, and said they would meet us at the bus station, but they weren't sure they could make it in the time left. I said it wouldn't hurt us to wait five or ten minutes, don't worry about it. We couldn't just part in front of the bus station, so I circled around a bit, and as we were working our way back to the bus station she phoned not once but three times! to ask where we were and if we were coming to get them and where should they wait for us. !!! I was a little short tempered by the time we picked them up. Besides being so tired there are no words.

I managed to drive us home, safely, with only one wrong turn (I was literally driving in my sleep). At which point I staggered up to my bed and fell across it, my heart pounding so hard from the effort I got a headache and all. Maxine took a shower, and informed me brightly that she felt better, it was all wonderful, and what a great day it had been. She didn't say thank you.

I've just been a grouchy basketcase pretty much ever since.

It was a long, hard day for the kids, too. The ones in the car with me, and the ones left at home. Particularly Hans, who was left nominally in charge, but Adam was supposed to help out and watch his own brother, John. Hans said that at one point he couldn't even remember if Adam was in the house. So it was all on him. The two little guys got along great, but at the end of a long day that started wearing thin, with John, because he is older, taking a toll on Eliyahu, who couldn't keep up and John was saying some rather mean things to him. I don't mean to imply that it wasn't also hard on John, I guess I mean that because Eliyahu is younger he got hysterical first...

Then the machsom was closed down because of a terrorist threat right here. He was stuck in a parked lot of traffic for more than 45 minutes, while we tried to cope with supper and overtired, overcranky people. It was pretty rough.

Still, I think we did okay. John made it home before eight, Havva made it home with no real hold up, and I finished a wonderful book I was reading, I can't remember the title now (helpful, aren't I?) but it's another Hermux Tantamoq book by Michael Hoeye. I can't recommend them enough for fun fluff reading. :-)

Today I slept in a bit, and hid out in my room. This afternoon John, Neil and I had a dentist appointment. We took Eliyahu with us to give him a bit of a break from 8yo John. We also picked up a couple of new fans, as the old ones were dying here. And when we got home I again made a beeline for my bed, where I couldn't collapse immediately, someone had been messing about and pushed things out from under it, my mattress was pushed off the end, and one of my pillows was missing. But I just collapsed sideways as well as I could. I'm still all in, but grocery shopping must happen. We have to feed twelve people now, not to mention make up the depredations of the last week, when we didn't buy food expecting to be feeding four extra people.

Then we are going to take over the den, John and I that is, and play a railgame and try and pretend that none of those people are here. Or our children. :-)

I've got to go now, for that grocery shopping. Ouch. My feet will not like me for it.

There, no more empty white box.

I'm listening to Aerosmith: Living On The Edge

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06