Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Early morning blather - 2006-08-02

I'm grateful for: being up in the early morning; new hair clips; Olmert - turning out to be not quite the non-starter he looked like originally

I didn't write anything last night, although I came upstairs intending to. When I got to my room I just didn't want to turn the computer on. I wanted to read my book and go to sleep. So I did.

Deep confessionals. What you read this for (or maybe not).

It's just a madhouse. Not necessarily in a bad way, but still. Maxine and her family are here indefinitely. And we are all getting along, really. But... Her son, 8yo John, doesn't go to bed until like 1am. Which means he is up chattering non-stop during the time when I might otherwise have a chance to get some work done while hearing myself think. Instead, I am hearing John. Constantly.

Yesterday John and Eliyahu and Simcha tried out the local day camp for kids on the yeshuv. It'd been going on for a while, so they were coming in at the very end. I never even considered sending my kids before Maxine's family moved in. Now, for the last three days of camp, I said they could try it (and 8yo John went, too). Eliyahu and John were back home in twenty minutes. I doubt they spent ten minutes at the camp. It was pretty awful for them. They arrived, and the camp kids were separated into four groups, younger boys, younger girls, older boys and older girls.

The younger boys group where John and Eliyahu were, well, not well managed. The other kids were teasing them and calling them names. And the mefaked (leader - probably 'camp counsellor' in this instance) made ALL the boys stand for a punishment. Including Eliyahu and John. They were so out of there. I can't imagine what the mefaked was thinking, but either he hasn't a clue about little boys, or there is something really wrong with the whole camp. I'm tending towards option A because Simcha had a great time.

In her group the had 'army day.' They played they had to 're-take' Jerusalem, using water balloons for 'bombs' they crawled along under mesh netting, ran an obstacle course, climbed and seemingly had a wonderful time. And got well and truly wet, which can only be good in an Israeli summer.

Yah, I know you all are roasting in the states this year. Have you noticed I haven't complained so much about the heat this year? Only 'cause misery loves company. We're all suffering, so I don't need to complain so much. ;-)

Actually this year for some reason it's not the heat, but the quality of the air, which is awful. I can't blame it on the war, the air was bad before the bombs started coming down in huge waves. All the crap thrown up into the air in the explosions surely doesn't help, though. If you remember it doesn't rain here all summer, then you might understand that whatever gets thrown up into the air stays there until the rains come in October. Or November. No fun.

I'm up early, early, early this morning, because I committed to driving Maxine to the b'tuach leumi office at the kenyone - and Hans mis-understood when I asked him to bring me breakfast at 6:30, so he brought it about an hour earlier. Oy. The nice thing is that it is cool-ish (in my room with the fan, and with the sun shut out), and bright and quite pretty, and I am awake for it. I like that part.

I'm jumping back and forth here, but that's just life, I guess.

Yesterday was pretty quiet for me. I spent a lot of the day in bed, good thing, I am so bloody fatigued all the time it is a bit worrying. I watched Back To The Future with Maxine and Darryl - who had never seen it before. And I got a little bit of knitting done (yeaa!!), and looked through the last bin of yarn, which still needs to be sorted and organized.

And I got some financial stuff done, I can't tell you how long that has been getting behind. I did only dollar stuff, not the shekels, but it's progress. And I paid the Visa bill (not in full, but more than the minimum. What I can do, I guess).

I did get a little bit caught up on resting, I can tell because I don't feel like just falling over this morning. Progress, in a way. I'm supposed to go get some blood tests for the gyn, but I forgot all about it. I have to remind John (husband) so that we can try and get it done tomorrow maybe. If not then, than yom rishon - Sunday.

I guess I haven't a whole lot to say. I went looking for some music by Donovan last night, couldn't find much of anything at one of the music downloading sites I frequent, found a little bit at another. Maxine was interested but I doubt I'm going to work too hard on finding more. These days, if it isn't easy, it isn't happening.

Today I am supposed to be doing a lot of driving - I have to get Hans to Tel HaShomer (army base) for noon, and I promised to take the kids to where the water slide gets set up in the kenyone. They do it in the afternoon once a week, and I've been trying to get the kids there all summer so far. I hope it wasn't just for the month of July. That would be too sad.

Not much else to write. I'm glad that this situation with Maxine's family is temporary. I suspect when they can go back to their home, we will all sleep for at least a week here. It is all just unbelievable.

That's all I can think of to write today. I am planning on that fun odyssey of trying to pay for a gold membership here on diaryland again. The last couple of times I tried to do it there was some kind of glitchy thing and I couldn't make it work, no matter how hard I tried, or who I wrote to. Finally sweet life-my-way paid for my gold membership. I hope I will be able to pay for my own. I'd give a fair amount to know what it is with the payment system and me. I don't have these problems other places. *Sigh*

But anyway, I said I was off. And I am. Not even off my rocker, 'cause I haven't got a rocker. I'd like one, though. Still, I am off. 'Bye for now.

I'm listening to the birds chirping and singing and clucking outside my window. Lovely.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06