Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

I can't think - 2006-08-04

I'm grateful for: a nap; really neat two piece irons; not fighting life on life's terms so much any more

There's too much to write about, I'm just not going to even try. See what comes out is all. Maxine's family are still here, and poor 8yo John is ready to go home. He couldn't understand, and kept saying "I want to go home, why can't we go home?" It breaks my heart, thinking about it.

Of course the last two days were the heaviest in terms of bombs dropped on Israel in a couple of decades. Today alone more than a hundred bombs hit in about an hour. Some fatalities, but you won't find them in your newspaper or television news. Jews die, in their homes, or on their way to a bomb shelter, it's not news.

Oh, what else? I got out the door this morning with John to get to the lab in Kfar Saba for blood tests. Today was a fast day which made them taking blood that much more fun. I didn't fast, entirely, but I definitely didn't eat as much as I otherwise would have. I drank, though. No choice for me today.

After that, we did some shopping. A new fan for the girl's room, some food, some hardware. We came home to find our internet connection was gone. We never did find out if the problem was bezeq (the phone company) or act.com (the isp). Each of them insisted it wasn't them when John called, but eventually it was all sorted out, which is what matters.

John and I went out tonight after breaking our fast. At sundown we all pigged out, then Neil took Eliyahu up to bed and John and I went to the kenyone (mall) thinking we would go to watch a movie. Instead we ended up wandering around the kenyone. We shopped for an iron, but didn't buy one because we are convinced we can get one cheaper at a different store, bought a new dvd, some school/art/office supplies, and ketchup. But not tuna fish, because although we need it, the price at that store was incredible. It works out to something like a dollar a can, which is ridiculously high for around here.

John got a phone call from a head-hunter, and is again looking hopefully towards a possible job in the states. It would be in Hartford, which is far from ideal, but it's close enough to both Jessica and our home in Vermont to make it workable, and maybe even better than what we had originally planned on.

Of course, he may not get the job. It is a thing to hope for, is all.

I can't think of anything else right now. I've been so busy, and so tired, life has been so full, it just never seems to stop.

I'm sure that that will change, and probably without warning, but that is how it seems today, for sure.

I'd better try and get some sleep. It's almost 4am. Thank goodness I don't have to do anything at all tomorrow. Besides possibly greet a new houseguest. Whee! Like we aren't crowded enough around here. More on that later, I guess.

I'm listening to Eliyahu's sleeping breaths.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06