Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

No 'news' - 2006-08-04

I'm grateful for: knitting again; a quiet time at home; getting more organized

Hello, hello, hello, I'm back again. I have no news, I haven't even pulled up the screen on the computer. I mean 'news' news, I have lots of news from my life. Whether or not I write it here is a whole 'nother issue, though.

I slept in late, late, late, which is good. I woke up mostly 'cause I had to pee. Slept some more, John and Simcha and Eliyahu and John and Hans and Maxine and Darryl all went out, the house was so-o quiet.

I can't remember doing much - Zechy brought me some breakfast, he and Havva chatted with me for a while in my room. I had pretty much committed to not leaving my room today - as a way of ensuring I didn't push myself and got the rest I need. But when I heard the music from Chicago (the musical) coming from the den I unplugged the computer and went in there to watch while I played Kingdom of Loathing while also reading email and generally being a vegetable. That part was fun.

Other than that I did get my yarn mostly straightened out with John's and Simcha's help. We got the den much more usable, with two trunks removed from behind the sofa and the furniture rearranged as much as possible in the limited space. Also, rearranging the yarn meant that we could put the legos, which live in the den, into a couple of clear bins I freed up for the purpose. Again making for a much neater den, with more usable space. We have LOTS of legos.

Now we have lots of plastic bins sitting in the kitchen with nothing to do with them at the moment. I expect if nothing else they will come in handy for moving if/when we find a real home for ourselves. This can only ever be a temporary place for us. It is too wrong.

We watched The Squid and the Whale tonight. Not what I would describe as ideal Friday night viewing, but we first tried to watch Sphere, and the sound was all screwed up, and then we put in Mrs. Henderson Presents and it wouldn't play right at all. The movies just seemed jinxed. Returns, returns. We aren't very good at getting returns back to the stores, we too often end up just throwing them out after a while. Don't know why it is, but it is.

I had a very nice chat with Adam about hippies (what they were, what made the sixties different). That was nice. Darryl did the kiddush afterwards, and then I had to come up and collapse in bed, having done all I could possibly manage.

Some time later though, around 11:30pm, I was up and wandered downstairs where I found only Zechy. He was reading a book but I interrupted him. I wanted to knit, and I like to knit listening to music or chatting, and I couldn't turn on any music. After trying to engage him in conversation for a bit, I gave up and asked him to read aloud from the book he was reading - something Star Wars, I've never kept track of them. Which he very obligingly did.

I find knitting very soothing and relaxing when I can do it right for me, and that it was. I could recline in my chair with my feet up (a rocking chair is better, of course), and knit while listening to him tell me/read me the story. I don't know that I got a lot of knitting done, but I got more done than I have been doing. I am working on placemats for the family. A rather nothing project - they aren't needed and will probably not be used or appreciated, but it is something simple I can do quickly and that is what I need right now. To build up my confidence, get back into the rhythm of it, make it fun again instead of something I do because I've always done it.

When Zechy could read no more, I came upstairs and here I have been ever since, with nothing happening except Chamudah lay on the rug by my bed, and at one point Dingo wandered in. Chamudah growled and barked, which startled me, and John came running having miraculously heard me give a little shriek. Usually he sleeps through any and everything - including almost sleeping through my having a baby, once.

I also, earlier, had a nice chat with Maxine. More than a chat, though. I just wanted to tell her clearly that having them here isn't a burden or a problem, that we are happy to be able to provide them a place to stay, and while I know they are anxious to be able to return home, it won't be a problem for us if they end up staying here rather longer. Also, Maxine patched Alexander Cornelius Merchison PIg the Third, a very old cloth stuffed pig which is the animal I have had second longest. Longest is a formerly plush (now quite threadbare) plush dog called 'Dawgy.' I was so creative in my youth.

I don't have many things from my childhood, and nothing from the early years, in part due to my mother's habit of throwing everything my sister and I had out at irregular intervals. So the animal toys are from my teens, but more precious since I haven't anything else. I remember I had a really nice little stuffed koala once. For a very short time. And Barbies, but with no clothes or anything to make playing with them worthwhile. I have some thoughts on that, but not for my diary, at least not now. Maybe another time, maybe not.

Now I'm going to get some sleep. After 3am. *sigh*

I'm listening to the ceiling fan

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06