Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Last night and this morning, repeating myself - 2006-08-25

I'm grateful for: a good night's sleep; John making me breakfast; Vitamin C

I wrote this last night, but fell asleep before I could post it.

***

You know how life never seems to stop, never seems to give one a break? Yeah, well, all my kids came down sick with a summer cold and now I have it, and even John (who never, ever, ever gets sick). Just in case everything else wasn't enough.

Trip to the dentist went well, in that he fitted the crown right this time, so I hopefully am done for a while. I need a cleaning, but otherwise, teeth seem to be good. It also cost WAY less than I had expected. Still a lot of money, but the difference between 4000 shekels and 6000 shekels. I am so not complaining.

We went shopping for my son's birthday - Zechy is turning 16 on Tuesday. No luck finding what he wanted (an oud - a kind of lute), but we did pick up a 3/4 size guitar, which will be fun for him and all the younger ones. We used to have a guitar, nothing fancy, but a decent accoustic guitar, and we loaned it to someone. Yeah, never seen it again.

Also grocery shopping. I can't believe I actually managed to walk around all those stores. I am dead now. Really, really dead. My legs are dead, and my eyes are dead and my head is, well, with a summer cold. Kind of wishes I were dead, if you know what I mean.

So, tomorrow I don't *have* to go anywhere or do anything. Besides normal ima (mom) stuff. *sigh* So much for resting.

Anyway, for now, I am grateful the summer cold hit before a weekend. I'm grateful for an inexpensive guitar and a lot of food in the house. I'm grateful for a day off and two new Hebrew children's books to read and learn from (studying Hebrew by reading children's books - it's fun, not too easy, and I can do it with my kids). I'm grateful for Benjamin washing the dishes, dairy AND meat, and going out to Kfar Saba for a night out so I don't have to fret about entertaining him.

I'm grateful for children's birthdays.

And for new cheap sandals for Zechy and a couple of new frisbees to take to the beach yom rishon (Sunday) if they go.

I am NOT grateful for the summer cold, regardless of whether or not it might be part of Hashem (my hp) 's plan to get us to a better place.

I'm grateful that it is a degree or two cooler - and also that we don't live in Petah Tikva where the temps are about 5-10 degrees hotter. Oy!!!

And I'm grateful I'm in bed. I'm going to try and get some sleep now. Good night.

***

Yesterday was difficult, in the full throes of a really nasty summer cold. Right now the left side of my nose is completely stuffed. I hate it when that happens.

Still, we managed to do what we needed to do, and even have some fun. The music store we stopped by in Kfar Saba had some great sheet music, must go back there. And we got directions to a store in Yaffo (by Tel Aviv) which definitely sells ouds.

John made homemade falafel, very yum, and we headed out to Ra'anana where there were absolutely no movies to watch. No new movies, nothing anyone would want to see (not kidding) besides Pirates of the Caribbean II, which we have certainly seen enough times.

So we stopped by Steimatzky's - THE bookstore chain in Israel. And found a couple of really wonderful books. Then went to Chaviv and Hetzi (the two cheapest stores we've found) for groceries. And, it turns out, cheap sandals (20 shekels, about $4.50) for Zechy and good all cotton t-shirts for Havva, and I can't remember what else. Good day for shopping.

And then back home, I had the second-to-last tin of sardines in the house. When they are gone we will have to go to the U.S. for more. No, seriously. I thought we couldn't live without maple syrup, but the truth is, really can't live without sardines. We're too New England is all.

John is fussing and moaning. He is *not* a good sick person. Not enough practice I guess. It's not that he becomes a baby and wants to be taken care of, it's that he seems to think he's the only one suffering in a house full of sick people. Just like him, I guess.

Still, life is good today. I did get a good night's sleep, and the cold isn't as bad as it could be. One of the chickens pecked at one of the kittens Hans has been feeding. The sun is shining and it is not (yet) an oven in here. And I am tired of rambling. Probably a good sign.

I'm listening to Enon: Knock That Door

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06