Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Pretty dopey - 2006-09-04

I'm grateful for: a new aron; happy dreams; my wonderful little doggie

It would be so handy if I could either update regularly, or remember when was the last time I wrote something here to give me an idea of where to start.

I guess I'll work backwards, since I'm up and hiding out in the den this morning. A few minutes ago Hans came up looking for John, who apparently went to get the mail. The man delivering my aron (sort of a closet) had called for directions and was even then a couple of minutes from the house.

As of now, all of my stuff, except my shoes which are piled up all haphazard next to my bed, are in the den with me. John locked the dog in here for while the carpenter is here. I'm keeping her company, and Simcha and Eliyahu are keeping me company.

Having the aron is a good thing. In my ideas (which are probably more dreams than reality) having the aron means being able to put all of my stuff away instead of having piles all over the place, and being able to put a desk in my room instead of having the big desk downstairs in the kitchen, I'll have a smaller one in my room, and John can use the big desk, which he really needs, for all of his crap.

Since I also have a blanket chest in my room, and Eliyahu's dresser, not to mention the bed, and the room is not a large one, this may well be just a happy fantasy. But, until I've had to try it out it will at least remain a Happy fantasy.

If it does work, then we get to start rearranging furniture downstairs for the new reality. Which has as a long-term goal actually being able to use some of the space in the kitchen. *sigh* This house is just an impossible place - at least it has been - and I don't know how much I can actually do to make it better. But I know I can make it better. At least a little.

I don't remember yesterday already. Yesterday was shabbos. I talked with Megret for all of 45 minutes last night. Ugh. And that pretty well did me in. She's ... not better. Insane (I mean truly insane) conspiracy theories about the six mathematicians who are capable of bringing down the entire internet and one of them who is trying to do it because the internet uses the same satellites as the defense computers -- through an explanation of how, because one Catholic man she knows was saved by a Protestant family in Germany, it proves that Israel isn't special and the Germans weren't/aren't so bad... That one was kind of the last straw, but there was nothing to do but wait for it to be over, change the subject, and get off the phone. There is no stopping her once she starts on these things. You have to see them coming and head her off, something I doubt anyone can do with any consistency.

Before talking to Megret, though, we read some Animorphs aloud to Simcha and El'yah, I had a pretty good meeting on the phone (conference call) with some people in the states, and I mostly enjoyed a quiet day. I finished Carnavaron's Castle. It was a bit of a slow read, but fun, a nice romance with a silly bit of mystery wrapped up in it. Or maybe it's a mystery with a touch of romance. Not the best book I've ever read, but enjoyable good fun.

I also finished a jigsaw puzzle that Simcha, Zechy and I started Friday night, with the help of all the kids, enjoying visiting with them as we worked on it. It's a thousand piece puzzle, not very well made, with letters printed on the back of each piece. The letters were the same in places, so that the left bottom corner was all 'x's, and then directly next to that were 's's, and so on. This made the puzzle fun, where otherwise it would have been annoying and almost unsolvable. It really was very badly made. But we managed to enjoy it. It is sitting in state on the dining table even now. I am ready to put it into the box, but somehow it hasn't happened yet. Such is life.

Friday, before the jigsaw puzzle was embarked, was reading Animorphs, of course, and we wached Much Ado About Nothing, the Kenneth Branagh. I may have written about that already, in which case I'll just say that we all love it, love Shakespeare, and wish we could be closer to an English speaking country in order to have the opportunity to see some of the plays acted. Videos are good, but.

I've been going through some kind of nuttiness in my head, I don't know what it is about. I am restless, distracted, irritable, for no reason I can see. I can't fall asleep at night, and I wake up feeling not particularly rested. There is nothing going on in my life at the moment to explain it, so all I can figure is maybe it's some kind of grody flashback coming up? I'd guess hormones, but the thing about the depo-provera is that it pretty well smooths out the cycle so that I can't really see that as being a cause.

My spell-checker doesn't like the word 'smooths.' Stupid spell-checker.

The aron is almost finished being put together, so I'm going to see about putting my clothing and stuff in it. Hashem willing, I can shoehorn it all in somehow. At least everything will then be behind closed doors and drawers.

I lost a day entirely. Because I phoned Megret Sunday night, and I somehow connected that to Saturday night. Oy! No, no, no.

There was a whole day yesterday (see, I said I forgot it). John took the kids to the beach, I had some time alone in the house. Which is how I know the discontent between my ears is a thing. I had plenty of time to listen to whatever wasn't being said, if you know what I mean. I also managed to get the books in the den (children's books) out and sorted, and put aside a whole box of them to be given away to whomever. The remaining books fit in the bookcase, or would if some of them weren't too tall, but I don't mind laying them sideways on the top.

And I sorted more photos. I'm down to four photo albums. I know I gave a guesstimate of how many I did the first day, but it was so wrong. Anyway,, there are a *lot* of photos in a now smaller number of photo albums, and the job is approaching finished. The photo album part. Then I have to go through the whole box with photo stuff, negatives, and so on. Which may take longer but will be less annoying, as it won't make as much mess all over the place.

I managed to fold a little bit of laundry, and Zechy and I rejoiced that Neil won't be here Mondays and Wednesdays, so we will make every effort to do laundry on those days. He does the most terrible things to the clothes. He hangs them up in ways that they come in not just wrinkled, but distorted. How does he do that? And, why? It is really, really crazy-making. Best solution? Do the laundry on Mondays and Wednesdays.

Neil is starting a conversion ulpan in Jerusalem. He'll be gone all day both days. We are all looking forward to it. Living with Neil is working out okay, and he does help out a lot, but the space will be hugely appreciated.

And, I have an appointment with a chiropracter this afternoon. I hope he is good. I really, desperately need some chiropractic help. Even the frigging dr.s agree that chiropractic helps with M.S. symptoms, which tells you something. They didn't come by that easily, I'm sure. Doctors, fighting facing reality every step of the way. Gotta love 'em. (Sarcasm, heavy, dripping).

Okay, I'm off to fill my new aron. I hope. With joy and clothing. Be well, all, and Gd bless. Thank you so much for being a part of my life. It might sound pretty dopey, but at the moment, I love you all. :-)

I'm listening to large boards being hammered into place in the next room, and the fan in this one. Oh, yes, and the dog growling softly.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06