Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Haven't missed it - 2006-09-16

I'm grateful for: a wonderful trip to the shuk; a good day overall; getting to see Hadera (which is lovely).

Earlier I had all these ideas for a long entry I wanted to write, but I just can't.

I did manage to get up early, and John, Simcha, El'yah and I went to the shuk. Other than a VERY long slow line to get in, it was great. I had a wonderful time there, bought Simcha some new shirts, Eliyahu some cheap little toys which he loves, we got fruit and veg for the house and fried chicken wings and chicken fingers and eggrolls for what was really breakfast since we hadn't eaten a proper one before leaving the house. I went in the wheelchair, and it wasn't crowded enough for it to be a big problem, and it was so much easier for me - not getting all tired out and all. So, that was good.

We came home and quickly got ready and drove up to Hadera to look at a house for rent. I don't think it's the place for us. The rent is a little high since the main house isn't large enough so we would really have to rent the extra room + kitchenette. And the layout is just impractical. We all loved various features of the place - it has balconies all over, and the roof is flat and has a railing and stairs up which adds to the available space nicely (except in the drenching rains and high summer of course.)

It is in a lovely neighborhood, very quiet, almost walking distance (not quite) to the train station, with a large park right around the corner and just a few blocks walk takes one to a main street with lots of shopping. The location is really good. But that's the good stuff. I can't really say more, not because there isn't more to say but I really wore myself out. I didn't realize how badly until I noticed (I'm good at blocking it out) that I was sitting here in horrible pain. I am. It's been a long time since I hurt this badly, and I have no doubt it is largely about climbing the seventeen stairs to the front door, climbing the interior stairs to the second floor, climbing down all those stairs, not to mention just sitting up in the car, in the wheelchair, in the car, in the wheelchair, for many hours.

So, so much for long thoughtful entries. Not that this isn't long enough. I have to lie down, and hope that by 'power resting' *hee* I can be able to cope with going out for my manicure and pedicure on Sunday at least. I'd hate to miss that!

The social worker from the city is coming out on Monday to talk to me about what rights I have as a disabled person, so it might be good to be noticeably crippled when she comes, but that's far enough ahead I'm just really being silly even thinking about it. Anyway, I've got to lie down.

Just for the record: I haven't missed the pain.

I'm listening to Eliyahu's breathing while he sleeps, and the whir of the ceiling fan.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06