Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

I need a break - 2006-09-18

I'm grateful for: seeing a house that can work; doing a better job of understanding and getting along with my daughter; things continuing to get better.

Such a day! I need to be asleep, but I have too much to do still. A lot today went as predicted. Alina came by (late) and we didn't actually study any Hebrew. Although I may have laid the groundwork for us to do some studying tomorrow. Who can tell?

The social worker from the moetzah came by and went through the paperwork. It was a good visit. She took a bunch of my paperwork (copies), and if I can get a letter from the dr., stating that I need things (like a shower chair and a bed table), then she will take it all to the Ministry of Health to start the ball rolling to hopefully get these things. I hope the dr. will write the letter, and I hope we can get him to put down a new wheelchair. The one I am using is more than ten years old, and belonged to John's grandmother before it was passed on to me.

Then things took a bit of a left-turn. An estate agent called saying he had found the perfect house for us. Long story. John was able to change my chiropracter's appointment to 3pm, so we could go up to Hadera for 6pm to look at the house. It is quite a good house. There is nothing wrong with it. I'd like to go into quite a bit of detail, but I'm just too tired. It doesn't 'feel' right, though. I have to trust that if it is the house for us, that Hashem will arrange for us to live there. And in the meantime I still want to see Rihen - one of the moshavim in the northern Shomron we failed to get to see when we drove up to Kadita. We are going there on Thursday morning, Hashem willing.

After viewing the house (you can see the sea from the mirpesset) we drove into Hadera, checking out the area, how far from the train station, and so on. We made it to the kenyone, but the kolnoa (movie theatre) had closed. While looking at the closed movie theatre, though, we saw in the window of a music store a couple of odd instruments among the guitars. Long story short, we found Zechy his oud (Arab/Turkish predecessor of the lute) and a copy of the soundtrack from Kazablan on dvd.

Now all I need to do is find the money to buy Hans his big thing, and I am all caught up. Except for the $500 we owe Hans. *sigh* But that is not today's problem. Can't be, we have too many others.

I spent the grocery budget - not quite half of it - on the oud and music. We'll eat a lot of rice and fruit. And cheese.

John and I came home. Havva talked about needing more/different food for when she goes to work. That's where the cheese comes from. It is very frustrating talking about food with Havva, but I am getting better at not taking it personally. I used to feel like she was accusing me, almost, and demanding that I fix the problem. Now I am better able to think my way through that she is just frustrated and feels helpless, and I don't have to take it personally. It's better.

John and I went upstairs and watched Cars. It's a good enough movie. I don't think it's worth near a quarter of the amount of gushing my sister gave it. The kids will be happy that they are allowed to see it now.

John and I found that there are different quality levels among bootleg movies. And we found someplace here which sells the high-end bootleg movies. I really hope we end up moving someplace where we can just rent the movies. It would probably be cheaper, easier on the conscience, and allow us a chance to see more movies. It is odd to me that this place doesn't support a video rental place, even a small one. ???

Then came the question, to sleep or to try and get some work done. Answer came when John logged on and found something urgent he needed to get to immediately. So here I am, and after I logged on I found an email which required an immediate answer. Someone I sort of mentor going through a hard patch, and questioning, well, everything. She's in California, so I hope the time difference means she is awake and able to read my response. I never know if what I say can or will help, but my track record is much better now than it used to be.

Thank goodness. ;-)

I really, really need to try to sleep if possible, now, as Alina is theoretically showing up here in about eight hours with the twins (did I mention she has tiny twins? Four months or so, and I got to hold both of them - not at once! One at a time, silly), so that we can most probably *not* work on our Hebrew. But I can hope.

After Alina goes I am basically off the hook for anything but ordinary life until Thursday morning and the trip to Rihen. Gd knows, I need the break.

I'm listening to somebody's air-conditioner making loud noises outside.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06