Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Unbearably hot today, but still a good day - 2006-10-01

I'm grateful for: a really nice day; all my earrings; a happy home.

Tonight I have to keep this short, I'm on the laptop and the battery is low. How short? Only Hashem knows.

I didn't get anything like a full night's sleep. And I woke up on my own, not woken up by anyone else. What can you do? So, pretty tired right now, yeah, it's only 1:30am the second time. We already put the clocks back. Oy.

Especially oy, we are getting up way early, maybe 5:30am, to drive down to this moshav that is south of Sderot. Sderot is where almost all the bombs are falling these days. Doesn't make the news, it's just us being bombed. Every day, one or two or three missiles hit. Most of them don't hit anything in particular, Barukh Hashem. The ones that do, well, you know what happens. They showed all those marvelous pictures of what it looks like in war-torn Lebanon. Um, yeah. So, anyway...

Moshav south of Sderot. So far it hasn't been hit with any bombs that we know of. It's the last moshav on the road, completely surrounded by trees and fields. Apparently it is a very good place for growing wheat. And, there is an organic orange orchard there. I could like that.

Tomorrow we will only be getting a quick tour, and hopefully meeting some of the people we will need to talk to if we want to move down there. It's a rather long trip from here, hopefully not so long to get to Tel Aviv or Jerusalem or Petah Tikvah. So far everyone here seems pretty positive about it. A good sign. It is just fourteen kilometres from the sea, but a straight line to the sea goes almost right through Gaza City, so we'd have a rather longer drive to be able to go to the beach. Such is life.

How I do jump around, and my battery isn't getting any more charged. I spent most of today reading, playing Kingdom of Loathing, working on the jigsaw puzzle, listening to Animorphs, and napping. It really has been a very good day. We had a telephone meeting this evening, Neil and Lyla and I. Really, really good meeting. Lyla seems to have gotten to a place where she is starting to open up, and she talked a lot. It was really good to hear her.

Not much else to say. David and Alina and their three babies stopped by, but didn't visit. Which was just as well, I was pretty out of it then, and napped for most of the rest of the day at that point.

Not much else of note. Eliyahu was actually still awake when I came upstairs around midnight to check on things. I told the chiropracter that I would get some exercise by walking around the house more, so I made the trip up and down stairs. A good thing since the guy was still wide awake. Fortunately by 1am (the second time) he was out like a light. He wants to go on this trip tomorrow. He is going to be one grumpy little guy I expect.

I've been doing really well reading the Hebrew easy readers - meaning I am reading more easily and I know more words. Still not enough for even a short conversation. Slowly, slowly. It really would help if I talked to people who spoke Hebrew, I know. *sigh*

Ellen has offered to speak Hebrew with me, which I appreciate, but the reality is that I don't have enough words to carry on even a short conversation, so it hasn't gotten very far. And, I really only see Ellen once or twice a month, unfortunately.

I wish I felt sleepy. My computer just did something weird. It had reset it's time for the daylight savings change, but now has jumped forward again. I wonder what that's about? Unless I've been here typing for an hour and ten minutes, something I really doubt.

Must remember to set my watch back in the morning. While I drag my sleep-deprived self out of bed, eat, dress, and fall into the car. I think I will sit in the furthest back seat and try to nap there. Or not, if I am awake enough to want to watch the scenery. Not that much to see around here, the end of summer before the rains everything is dead. But I'm hoping when we get closer to the moshav that won't be so true.

I'd better stop, and try and get some sleep. Look at that, and the battery is still holding out. I need to talk to the children, and find out who put the computer away and didn't plug it in after draining the battery. Not tonight, though.

I am very excited about this trip tomorrow. Could this be our place? *Deep breath* I can't help but hope. And the rents there are cheaper than here by about a fourth. That's 1/4. A quarter of what we are paying here. Pretty darn cool.

I was listening to Big Yellow Taxi, but now it's just the ceiling fan, the watch ticking and some clicking noise from out of the house.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06