Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Yom Kippur - 2006-10-01

I'm grateful for: twenty-five years; a prospect of a home; not worrying

I can't believe how tired I am. I don't know why I can't believe it, thinking about it. I doubt I got as much as three hours sleep last night, and it is an hour later to my body than the clock says.

An interesting thing happened last night. When the clocks were to be turned back, all the computers' times adjusted properly - but then the laptop went back to the old time. How odd is that? And it keeps showing the old time now. Weird.

I did wake up around 6am today. Ate breakfast, dressed (sort of), and made it out to the car only half-an-hour later than we had said. Which is sadly normal for around here these days. Even worse is that I am usually at least partly to blame. *sigh*

We all, which was John, Havva, Zechy, Simcha, El'yah and I drove down to the moshav we wanted to see. I have to say, it looks very, very good. I don't know if it will work out for us, that is up to Hashem, but we met with the woman John had spoken with before, and saw what could be for us the perfect place. The houses are small, but each house sits on about an acre of land. They also come with outbuildings and if you buy a house you also get about 250 acres (I'm guessing the number here) of agricultural land for whatever. The rents as I mentioned before are almost unbelievably cheap. It would be a much longer commute for John. Probably not a longer commute for Havva, but that's because the busses she has to take from here are so ridiculous. If she could go to work driving or the busses were relatively sane it would take more like an hour from here.

Anyway, I took photos, which I might post on my fotolog someday, but not today. We had quite a nice visit. The atmosphere of the place is very good. Also, the air is good. So totally unlike here. And you can just smell in the air that the sea is near. Not close enough to actually smell the water, but you can sense the extra moisture, and that quality that air by water gets. Yum.

I can't think what else to say about it now. Not that there isn't more to say, but I am too tired. And if we end up moving there I'm sure I'll write some more, and if we don't, it won't matter.

We drove home taking another and longer route (and so we learn), and got home around 1pm. I took a bit of a nap while the kids caught up on their computer games. Seriously. By the time I got up they were done, and I sat down here where I have been just about ever since. That drive really took it out of me.

Before sundown John cooked me a t-bone steak, which I shared with Eliyahu (and the dog and cat, but you know, the bone and the fat). Everyone tried to eat some good, complex carbohydrates before the fast and drink a fair amount of water. I probably didn't drink enough, but I'll deal with that tomorrow if necessary.

At some point today each of us made an effort to apologize for any hurt caused during the past year. I have no doubt there are people I should apologize to or ask forgiveness of who are not part of the family, but to be honest if Hashem wants that to happen He's going to have to put them in my face. It's kind of sweet - there's always a bit of awkwardness about it when someone starts, but it always ends with hugs and smiles. As far as I know, no one really has any specific amends to make - just the regular day-to-day stuff that happens when you live with your family.

John went to shul with Hans and Neil, and I read Animorphs the younger two in desperation. Eliyahu was about bouncing off walls, and I was just too tired to cope with it. Havva is sick, and Zechy joined us to listen to the reading. I think I read for like an hour and a half. I finally stopped and we started looking for John to come home. And waited. And waited. Simcha and Eliyahu went out at least a couple of times to wait for him outside the shul, but came home for one reason and another. John did make it home by Eliyahu's bedtime, by which time I was totally ready to zone out and be left alone. Which, mostly, is what has happened.

I'm ready to go get some sleep. *I* think. I guess I'll find out what Hashem thinks. I am hopefully heading up the stairs. Goodnight.

I'm listening to the fan (of course) and the mess of thoughts in my head.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06