Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Frustrated grandmother - 2006-10-06

I'm grateful for: a young family to watch while waiting in line; fresh roasted sunflower seeds; the fact that it's better than last year.

My life seems to be a funny and an odd place sometimes. I don't know what that is about, but it was in my head.

I actually slept in today. Well, not really. I woke up at my usual time, 8am, but then was able to fall back asleep, unusual lately. So I finally got up around noon. Took the time to write an email I should have written a couple of days ago, while my door was shut and I could concentrate. Now I have to wait and see what comes of it. I hope something good.

I hope.

I am really all caught up on my email now. I even wrote to my mother (ugh!). No, rats, I do have one more to write. But it's for a friend's birthday which isn't until the end of the month. I keep intending to write it now, so that I don't forget when the time comes, but so far it hasn't happened. But I'm not behind.

I got a 'real' letter today, too, from a friend in Montana. A really nice guy I've been corresponding with for a couple of years. I have been really bad about writing to him (like everybody) and I was afraid it was over, it had been so long since he had written. But today I got a letter. Very happy. He has a new girlfriend (such a silly thing to say, he's quite a bit older than I am), which explains why he hasn't been writing. I'm glad to hear it.

I also got a package from my mother containing a family history written by one of her cousins. It turns out he is a really nice guy, and actually managed to write it in such a way that I even wanted to read it. He's the son of one of my mother's uncles (duh, cousin), and the one I liked best of all of the extended family that I met. The uncle, I mean, I never met this cousin. Now I wish I had known them better. Maybe.

Anyway, John went out with Simcha and cut a bunch more of bamboo, and then came home and made supper of homemade falafel. I worked on the jigsaw puzzle with Zechy and Simcha in the meantime, while playing a game of being ogres (I think?) with Eliyahu. The puzzle is almost finished! Yippee!! We are all thrilled at the thought of finishing it and being able to do a puzzle we will enjoy more. Endless rows of pink tulips are not us.

And after supper, John and I went out to look for walls for the succah, as well as to buy some food. No luck with the walls - we went to a store that had some wonderful fabric we could have used, but no one was manning the store. So what could we do? We did get a lot of food. I'm buying in huge quantities, and hoping that way we can stretch the little money we have to last the month. It is not fun being this broke. Oh, but still so much better than last year!

While we were standing in line at the grocery store, we were behind a couple with a one-year-old baby. It was simply delightful to watch them. I was grinning so much that my face hurt. Seriously. It made me happy to see them, and happy to be reminded of what it was like, and happy to play a little bit with the baby (who wanted to grab my earrings). He was just adorable, and his parents were, too. Three young people. How did I get this old? But I know, one day at a time. I don't know that I would want to be that young again, but I sure miss those delightful baby years. The delightful parts, that is. I am such a frustrated grandmother.

Not much else to say. Havva is scheduled for guard duty tomorrow, and is (was) dragging around being miserable, not eating anything and complaining of being hungry, not going to bed and complaining of being up late. It's really all about having to get up before 6am tomorrow in order to catch a 7:30 train so she can sit around the base and (best case) get sent home again, probably to late to catch the last bus from Kfar Saba and (worst case) having to stay and do her guard duty, coming home Sunday morning after not sleeping two nights on the base. I'll be glad when she's on the train tomorrow. Then at least there's nothing left she can moan about... at least where I can hear. I feel like a stinker saying that. Ah, well.

We are planning, John and I, on getting up around 6 so that we can drive Havva to the train and then go to the shuk, hoping to find the walls for the succah finally. And maybe buy some jeans for John and for Hans. Who both need them desperately. At worst we go back to Kfar Saba to the store that had the fabric tonight, trusting that there will be a pakid (clerk) there tomorrow. And we have to finish building the sukkah, and decorate it, and cook. And then we get to rest, all the holiday work is pretty much over.

We also made some plans for next week. Going to the Dead Sea on Thursday (can't believe we haven't been there yet). Does anyone want some dead sea salts or mud or anything like that? It is very cheap if you buy it there. :-) And Simcha's best friend Michal is coming Wednesday morning to spend the night and go to the sea with us Thursday. So, plans. We'll see what happens.

And I'm for bed, or to try and sleep, or whatever. Tomorrow is a full day, or it looks that way from here. Oh, and I am absolutely covered in bug bites. What a treat. That part of living in Israel I don't care for.

My little guy is seven! He is so sweet when he is sleeping (aren't they all).

Good night

I'm listening to Waylon Jennings: Ramblin' Man

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06