Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Hol HaMo'ed Sukkot - 2006-10-10

I'm grateful for: a package from JW (fil); reading aloud from Rudyard Kipling (such an improvement over Animorphs, I think); good weather and time in the succah.

An odd day. I didn't sleep well last night. Plummeting cats and one cat knocking over Eliyahu's dvds - not in one big crash but one, after another, after another... And still another cat sleeping in my bed, but practically under Eliyahu.

This morning was a hard, slow start. John went in to work in Petah Tikva for the first time in a while. I got up around ten, had breakfast in the house, and juggled computer games (I helped Eliyahu to ascend in Kingdom of Loathing), children's questions and Neil's latest in grody flashbacks. No wonder I was a bit of a wreck by early afternoon.

I went out to the succah to just sit, with the laptop, but didn't get any real rest there. Of course some of the children followed me out, and the new kitten was there (we seem to have adopted one of Hans' kittens). I did enjoy sitting in the succah, but at the end of a while I was much more tired and worn than when I started.

I headed upstairs to try and lie down and rest, or read, or nap, only as I was just getting up neighbour Ellen came by for a visit. Since we haven't had a chance to visit for a long time, I felt it better (what was I thinking? I must've been dreaming) to visit instead. Ellen came upstairs with me, and I lay in bed and we had a very nice visit. But again, no rest. And, again silly me, I suggested I come over tomorrow and take some photos of her new granddaughter. Like I am likely to have the energy for that, when I can barely drag myself around this house. I can't imagine what I was thinking.

John came home while Ellen was visiting, and started supper. It was very yummy, baked fish (don't ask me what kind, something local) and baked potatoes slathered in cheese and butter, and I don't know what else because that's all I had in my room. While I was eating I was visited by one or two kids at a time, in a constantly shifting arrangement. I really would have liked to be just left alone to rest for a bit, but that is one of the problems with many children. If each of them wants only a few minutes, it adds up quickly.

So after supper, I did have John shut the door for a little while, but we had plans to go out *sigh* So I dragged myself out of bed, and dressed, and we drove off to the kenyone (mall) to check out the movies. The selection was pretty bleak. So instead we got a bit to eat in the food court (how wonderful to be at a mall food court where all of the venders have a kosher sign up), and ended up buying The Thirty-Nine Stairs, which none of the household have ever read, and The Man Who Would Be King and Other Stories by Rudyard Kipling. We also went upstairs and picked up a movie on dvd - The In-Laws. I don't actually have any desire to see it, but it was very cheap and it does have a good cast. I'm sure someone will like it.

Home again, I had promised to order a dvd for Hans that he had been wanting. We got a package from my fil containing birthday cards with cash for the kids (all but Simcha - I hope that's not a bad sign), and a little bit of cash to help us out. Thank goodness! Anyway, I ended up spending WAY too much money, getting a HUGE amount of stuff in addition to Hans' movie. I ordered quite a few proper copies of movies we had bought on bootleg (a salve to my conscience at least), and some books, and an oud instruction book for Zechy, and, well, lots of stuff. I would be a lot more worried sick about it if I haven't for so many years found that Hashem always makes it all work out - as long as I am not being an idiot (you know, I don't care if I can't afford this, I WANT it - and spending the grocery money on whatever-it-is), but truly trying to do what seems to be the right thing. It is hard to let go of the idea that the 'right' thing must always include not spending money I don't have. But, experience for me has shown that it really does always work out. It doesn't mean I like it, though.

I don't know if I mentioned, but we had seemed to have worked out a settlement with our chief creditor, nothing that will get it paid off, but we make payments for the rest of our natural lives, and while they aren't happy, they can live with it, and while we aren't happy, it is better than just blowing it off I guess. The only thing it, we are supposed to make the first payment for November 1st, and the papers haven't come yet. It's not like we're going to be mailing them from a U.S. post office. I suppose theoretically we could take it all down to the embassy and mail it from there. HEAVY on the theory there. And none of that does us any good if we don't get the papers in time. Of course, if we don't send in the paperwork with the first check on time they will see it as *us* not living up to the deal. Oy. John has to try and phone them to find out what the deal is. Along with all the gazillion and one things he is also trying to deal with. Whee, fun!

It's a good thing I *know* my life is unmanageable, or I'd be making myself pretty nuts trying to get any sort of a handle on all of this mess.

So the end of the day, I ended up reading With the Night Mail from the Rudyard Kipling book aloud to John, Hans and Zechy. I don't know what Hans thought, he left before the end of the story but had seemed to be enjoying it. I know John did, and Zechy almost made off with the book, so that tells it's own story. I was able to get it back from him, so all is well (for me, anyway).

And now it is an hour later than when I started this. I need to try and get *some* sleep, so I can stagger around dizzy and reeling tomorrow again, too. At least I can make an appointment to see a neuro now - so the neuro can tell me there's nothing they can do. Love this disease.

At least the weather is really good. And Havva is working half days this week.

I'm listening to The Ramones: Needles & Pins

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06