Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Backups - 2006-10-11

I'm grateful for: having everything properly backed up; plenty of food in the house; not going to the icky chiropracter.

I'm going to try and be very brief. It's 3am. Oy. Not much sleep again last night, but then after waking up around 8 or 9, I was able to get back to sleep for another couple of hours. So it was better than it might have been.

I know we had plans for today, and I know that they didn't all work out, but that's about all I can remember. Simcha had this bat mitzvah party to go to for 3:00pm. We left the house (John, Hans, Simcha, Eliyahu and I) together, dropped Simcha by a bunch of other girls at the kenyone and went shopping. The clothing store we'd wanted to stop at is closed for the holidays, *sigh*, so no new jeans for Hans. But we did very well in Alef (the store we had food vouchers for). John and Eliyahu got new tallits, we picked up a new set of headphones for the kids to use (Zechy had been borrowing Simcha's, and Hans had just gone without). And food. It really went well, and we ended up paying of our own funds less than $50. Not bad to feed a family of eight.

On the way out we ended up stopping at a sporting goods store, and buying Hans a hockey stick. He is now all equipped for the hockey games he joins in down the street. And we got the right kind of valves for refilling the soccer ball. Thank goodness.

Back home, John had to turn around and pick up Simcha, who phoned to be rescued from a party which after all was supposed to last 8 hours. (!!!) Who schedules a 12-year-old's party to last 8 hours? So I got Eliyahu into bed on time with Hans' help. Everything was basically quiet here.

There was one bad thing. The power cord for my laptop stopped working. At least that's what I've been told. I have to check it out myself still, but the reason I am up at 3am tonight is that without the laptop (which was my backup for many things) I spent a few hours backing everything up properly on cds and dvds. Major pain in the ass. It needed to happen, though, so I am no complaining. Maybe a little. Because I back up my music and photos to dvds I tend to collect a large quantity to back up so I'm not wasting the space on the disks, and tonight I had to burn two disks that are less than half full. Argh. I find that very annoying. Losing the stuff would be more annoying though. I'm not complaining too much.

I am just too tired for more. Michal comes tomorrow. Wish me sleep.

I'm listening to Deep Purple: Dance to the Rock & Roll

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06