Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Without dread - 2006-10-15

I'm grateful for: my wonderful digital camera; chickens outside my window; living without a certain measure of dread

It rained this morning. A 'real' rain - meaning, a proper sort of deluge for this area. It was wonderful. There was an amazing array of smells, from the smell of something frying, to the smell of cheese melting on a potato, to the smell of hot metal ... of course mixed in with the smell of the rain.

John just notified me we got a call from the truant officer. They want a copy of the letter we sent to the ministry of education. Problem is, we didn't send a letter this year. *sigh* Must send letter, I guess, and then send the truant officer a copy. Along with the notice that we are moving out of Karnei hopefully before winter. Hashem will then have to find us a home before winter. Please.

Not much else this morning. My stomach is a mess. I might have thought it was from hearing from the truant officer, except that it was a mess before John ever came in here. It was a mess when I woke up this morning, and last night even. So. Yuck.

It's still a wonderful ife, but right now I'm feeling a bit of fear over the whole stupid school thing. Anyone who meets or sees any of my kids knows that they are doing all right. I have two adult children who are products of homeschooling to show that it works, and I am turning out educated, civilized, responsible adults. I really wish they would just leave us alone. Why is that so hard?

Only two of my kids are targets for the school system now. Something to be grateful for, as somehow it feels less threatening when they can only go after two of my kids. Zechy is safe. At sixteen they can't compel him to do anything, here.

Drat! I had asked John to bring up some of my sunflower seeds, and he seems to have forgotten. Sometimes they help settle my stomach, sometimes they make it worse. So I have to try, you know?

I read one and a half new Hebrew easy reader type books today. After a bit of a hiatus, so it is a relief not to have lost too much ground. I only had to look up a couple of words. I also got Zechy to read one of them aloud to me, so I could practice understanding spoken Hebrew, which is the thing I am worst at. I can formulate sentences, and read and write within the limits of my vocabulary, but when people talk to me I cannot understand them. Frustration!

Undoubtedly if I lived somewhere where all the neighbours spoke Hebrew I would get a lot more practice, and theoretically that would help. I am starting to think it might actually be some kind of basic problem with my brain - maybe I just am not able to process that part of the language. Who knows? But living in a community where people speak Hebrew I'll at least have a chance to find out.

I can't think of anything else to write right now. I was actually having fantasies of moving back to the U.S. Which is what I would do if it came to a question of sending my kids to school here or leaving the country. The schools here (in this community) are NOT schools you would want your children attending - even allowing for my bias against schooling for my kids. The kids who live in this neighbourhood and go to school don't even learn Hebrew, so even that wouldn't be a reason or an excuse.

Ah, what to do. I have things I could be doing besides sitting here and fretting. The main reason I haven't gone off to do them is the sun was shining in my window making my room all bright. It's gone behind a cloud, now, so I might as well be in my dark, cavernous kitchen.

Maybe then I'll be all better. ;-) I can but hope.

I'm listening to people throwing large objects in the dumpster. Bam! Boom!

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06