Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Truant officer, too - 2006-10-15

I"m grateful for: Knowing that Hashem is in charge, and that everything works out; time alone this afternoon; Down comforters, when I get to sleep under them.

Wow, it's only about 9:30. I would actually be in bed trying to sleep, but Eliyahu is in there listening to Harry Potter on tape. *sigh*

It was a long day for such a short day. I think I got out of bed around eleven. I read and answered some email in bed before then. Breakfast, a bit more work taken care of - and more photos loaded on to my fotolog from the trip to the Dead Sea.

John arranged to take everyone out of the house again today for several hours. Havva's friend Havva went with them, having missed her bus last night, and caught a bus at Tsomet Ra'anana and made it to Jerusalem with no problem. He ran errands and took the kids to bookstores.

I just hung out here. Played some Kingdom Loathing. Went upstairs for a bit, I thought maybe I was having a grody flashback, but fell asleep instead. Woke up with a very weird feeling and not idea how much time had past. Not much, no more than an hour actually, but I didn't know that, so I came downstairs kind of braced for everyone to be home and the quiet over.

Instead I just had a few hours of quiet, all by myself. I didn't get much of anything done. I did take the walk for a *very* short walk, which was all I could manage, and more than I've managed in months. We walked down to the street, and across the front of the house. We walked back and to the neighbour's driveway (maybe another ten-twelve feet), then up to the house. I picked up trash from in front of the house (there is no lawn). Took the dog inside on the lead to throw it out, which confused her no end, and just then John pulled up.

SUCH a happy dog! If she could have wiggled herself into a concussion she would have. Fortunately she was outside and there was no problem.

I went upstairs as soon as things had settled down to call Megret back. She's phoned a couple of times, but I only just got the messages today when I missed a call from her while I was upstairs napping. It was a reasonably non-toxic conversation. I really do not enjoy talking to her, but I guess I feel obligated. She only made a couple of nutty comments, like one about the tundra melting, and I was for the most part able to just mutter an "Oh, Gd!' or two and then carry on.

I don't know whether to feel sorry for her or not. She has spent so much of the last twenty years filling my ears with one life-threatening, end-of-the-world catastrophe after another, that I just don't know if this time she really is that badly off, or it is just another one of her things. She manages to sound reasonably authentic, but then she's done that before, too.

Reasons not to spend your entire life being a hypo-chondriac #6: No one believes you when you actually do have a life-threatening illness.

I was on the phone with her for about two hours. Ugh. But when it got close to Eliyahu's bedtime I used that as an excuse to get off. Not that it was just an excuse. I would not miss Eliyahu's bedtime if I could help it.

Simcha and I read one of the Hebrew easy-reader books together. She read it aloud first, and I helped her sound the words out. Then I read it and translated (with reference to the dictionary). A sweet little story about a boy who finds a wild rabbit and takes it home, then lets it go when it clearly wants out.

John read some Animorphs aloud (I am *so* happy to have finished that Megamorphs!). Then Simcha and I went into the den to do some multiplication - she did the times table up to four - and we watched an episode of the Twilight Zone.

And that's about it. Not very exciting at all. John is on the phone right now with some homeschoolers who used to live here in Karnei, and can hopefully give us some help in dealing with the truant officer. The whole thing gives me the creeps.

***

Okay, it's a bit later. John is off the phone. The news is bad. Basically, we are screwed. We need to come up with 3000 shekel to pay a lawyer, as soon as humanly possible. We need to get the hell out of here (Karnei Shomron) as soon as humanly possible. We might need to leave the country. Ugh.

Apparently this truant officer is the most evil were-bitch un-hung. A family that used to live here had to leave the country (to avoid being arrested and their kids taken away). They had tried to work with her. Apparently that was a bad move. They are now in the middle of a huge court case, at the Israeli supreme court, which we now have to sign on to. Or, leave the country. An option I am definitely willing to consider, but that is much more difficult with Hans still in the toils of the army. *sigh*

Hashem is in charge. Everything will work out. Somehow. Everything always works out somehow. I just need to keep breathing, and do the next right thing. Aagghh!!!

Now I'm sitting here, wanting to go to bed, but the man said that he would email the name of the lawyer before *he* went to bed. So, I'm stuck waiting. I don't know how late the dude stays up. I suppose I could go to bed with the laptop on and hope the mail *ding* wakes me up. ;-7 Maybe not.

So much for our quiet day. I'd forgotten that 'never a dull moment' is one of the main catchwords of my existence. Never a dull moment. Not for me. Except of course for recounting it all here. I really do bore myself.

Funny. When I was on the phone with Megret and she was talking, I was doing they 'yah, um-hmm' thing just fine, and then she says (the way she does) "I'm done, your turn!" So I catch my breath and start telling her little things about my life, and there I am, yawning my fool head off. Boring myself to sleep. Pretty amazing. *silly grin*

Okay, I'm off, perchance to sleep. I am not going to stay up much longer waiting for this guy to email, I am supposed to be up to studying Hebrew with Alina around 8am tomorrow. So I am going off to bed. Without the lawyer's name. *sigh* Hashem, I really hope you have our backs on this one - 'cause we need all the help we can get.

The dishwasher running

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06