Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

One day is not enough - 2006-10-26

I'm grateful for: sleeping in; packing and organizing stuff; new movies and especially new books.

If anyone was wondering, one day of sleeping in and resting (somewhat) does not make everything all better.

I got out of bed around eleven, ate a very short breakfast, and at some point Neil phoned from Jerusalem. About the same time as one of the kids brought back two Amazon.com boxes from the post office. I had to open the packages (the kids were splitting there seams), so I passed the phone to one of the kids, and then they passed it around from one to another while we examined the goodies.

Many, many movies, some replacements for bootlegs movies we loved, some movies we had missed and wanted to see again, or the kids had never seen and I wanted for them. We got an old Danny Kaye movie (not that there are any new ones) The Court Jester, and Practical Magic, Bringing Up Baby, Arsenic and Old Lace, National Treasure - well, it's a long list.

I also got two books for me (well, the whole family will enjoy them, but I wanted them which is why I got them). A new Connie Willis book Inside Job, and something new from Christopher Moore. I hope it is more like Fluke, say, or Blood Sucking Fiends, and less like some of his other more recent books. I hate to think of that much money spent for something I can't read.

Also in the packages was a book on playing the oud for Zechy. Unfortunately all of the instruction is for a six-course oud, which is not what Zechy has. Some things never seem to work out the first go.

I got a fair amount of packing done, especially given the shape I am in. All the music cd's and audio tapes except a handful I am supposed to be copying onto the computer. A whole bunch of the games and some books. I also got a lot of junk cleared out. Huge amounts more to go, but a start is a good thing.

Zechy and I got more books catalogued, and the new movies. I can't say I accomplished much more than that, or if I did, I can't remember it. I caught up on reading email (but not on responding), and the news, and played all of my Kingdom of Loathing adventures (it was Sneaky Pete's day, a special day in the Kingdom). All silly, but good fun I guess. And I haven't much brain working yet. Hopefully I'll be doing some better tomorrow.

John and I put off my going to the lab for blood tests until Sunday. We had planned on my going tomorrow, but both agreed we needed more time to rest. So, I doubt my blood counts will change that drastically in three days. At least I hope not. And perhaps going to the lab on Sunday will be the excuse we need to not meet with the truant officer. There is always hope. :-)

Okay, I'm going to crash. In theory Alina is coming over tomorrow to study Hebrew, probably around 9am. So, I may not even be awake when she comes. Hashem is in charge, and it will work out I'm sure. I certainly need the sleep, but I need the Hebrew practice. Argh! I'm so tired my brain just keeps going 'round in circles. Enough. Good night.

I'm listening to the drive making some kind of odd noises in this poor old laptop computer of mine.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06