Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Bed before midnight - 2006-10-26

I'm grateful for: so much to look forward to, a new home, Hans getting free to live his life, a new dog; the putting off of things I dread, the truant officer visiting, surgery; and delighting in what I have today. All of it. :-)

I am too tired to keep my eyes open again. The good news is that it isn't quite 11:00pm. I am actually going to sleep at an almost reasonably time. I don't consider before 11 unreasonable - unreasonable is staying up until I can barely keep my eyes open. Again.

I caught up on most of my friends here today. Not all, sadly. And I wanted to write a little something, if only 'hi' to many but just didn't. It's probably just as well, I'm not awake enough to make any sense.

I finally sent an edited thank you note to my mother. Important, she did send me a wad of money. I really hope she is too pissed off at me (or that her head is still spinning from my last email) and won't respond. *sigh* Always the optimist, that's me.

It was a mostly quiet day. I got up early (earlier than I would have, anyway) because Alina had agreed to get together to practice Hebrew together today, but she never showed up. I coulda been sleeping.

I used the time, though, to finish the Connie Willis book which arrived in the Amazon.com order Inside Job. I find many of her books and stories a wee bit unsatisfying. I don't really know why. This was one of them. All the little H. L. Mencken (I can't spell, don't mind me) bits were delightful, and she's got a bit of human nature down there in a way I don't see anywhere else. But. Unsatisfying. It's the only word I have for it. Of course, when her stuff is good, it is SO good, that I am willing to take the chance (as I did this time) for something that is still extremely good - just - well, I've said it enough times.

Zechy and I got some more books catalogued (good progress), and packed up a bunch of videos. We packed pretty much all of the 'educational' videos. There are many, many things that are educational. It's the things that are labeled educational, and/or are consciously educational that we packed. No one will miss them for a couple of months or so that they will be probably completely inaccessible.

I don't know if I wrote here yet, but John did actually get hold of someone at the Lishkat Geyus (the army enlistment (?) office - I'm not sure that's the right translation) for Hans. They said we would get something in the mail in the next two weeks. So now we are at least waiting for a specific time.

It is possible - not probable but possible - that he could be released from his army obligations and go back to the U.S. before we ever move to Shoqeda. If so, it will make living in the too small house that much more bearable, but of course I am not in a hurry to get rid of him. Just wanting him to be able to go forward with his life. It's all scary, but things have to move.

I don't want him to go and I will miss him and worry about him of course. If he does go back to the states, as he is still quite insistent he will do. I'm glad there are people there we can send him to, family I mean, so I know he won't be entirely on his own. *sigh* Scary.

We also have acquired, although not quite yet, a new dog. She is an eighteen-month-old Australian sheep dog. I may have blown the breed name, but that is what she is. The family who adopted her brought her home having no idea what sort of dog she is, and so now have to find her someplace to live more suitable to a dog who simply can't be the family pet in an apartment in Ginot Shomron. She came over for a visit today, met and hung around with us while the man who brought her went home. The kids are in love with her, I like her very well, and Chamudah definitely approves once she has learned which parts of the house (sometimes it seems like most of them) are Chamudah's personal jurisdiction and not to be seen near.

She comes with the name Ugi (pronounced with a hard 'g.' It means 'cake.'). The kids want to change the name, and were trying out different names while she was here. I am leaning toward Matuka - 'Sweetie.' It goes well with Chamudah which also means sweetie, or 'Cutie.' She's young enough it shouldn't be a problem, as long as we pick one name and stick with it. We asked if she could stay with her family until we are closer to moving. The house is in a terrible uproar, and with everything we have to do we have no time for coping with a new dog who will need many walks and much exercise until we are out of this neighbourhood and onto our own small bit of a farm. I can't wait.

That's about it. We're all too tired, it's been a bitch of a week to ten days. I read some Megamorphs aloud, and Jessica phoned - to say 'hi' and to tell me that they are planning another wedding ceremony. I believe this will make three. I think it's time to get over it, but it's what she wants. She's planning it for two year's time, so we have plenty of time to save money and all that.

The only other thing is I watched the pilot episode of Waiting For Gd. It's wonderful. I loved the show when I could only see it extremely rarely on television, and I'm glad to see that buying it on dvd it's just as good.

John took Eliyahu into his room with him so I have a quiet room and the bed all to myself. Hashem willing I should sleep long and well. I can hope, can't I?

Now it's after 11pm. Definitely time to stop and get some of that much needed sleep.

I'm listening to John Anderson: It Wouldn't Kill Me

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06