Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Packing, colds, and a birthday - 2006-11-19

I'm grateful for: Hearing from Jessie again; that copying the tapes is working; my new washing machine.

Oh boy, how long has it been? I don't know. I've been so busy, packing, we all became sick, Simcha's birthday and bat mitzvah. I can't remember the half of it. I did end up speaking to Neil, for what that was worth. I guess it helped, because I am no longer feeling quite so homicidal. Still homicidal, just less intense.

Simcha's birthday went well, even though we were all so sick. Simcha was sick, but not as bad as might have been. Michal was here from Tuesday until Thursday, so they had a terrific couple of days together. Michal, so far as I know, didn't come down sick. We can hope. John drove us down, Simcha and I, to Ma'ale Adumim to pick her up. It was actually quite nice. Or would have been if the car wasn't so incredibly uncomfortable. Still, it was good to get out, good to visit however briefly. Eliyahu was sick that morning, really sick with throwing up and I hadn't wanted to leave him, but Tzvia phoned and from how she was it didn't seem possible to send just John with Simcha.

Anyway, when we got back, everything was fine. Poor little guy spent the day on the sofa under a bunch of blankets, sleeping mostly. Good for him. It's great when the little ones are sick enough to just lie still and sleep - so much better than when they are miserable and *can't* sleep.

Wednesday was Simcha's party. The whole family, and Simcha and Michal and another friend, Avigail (it's pronounced with four syllables, and I have no clue how to write it in English). We went for pizza, and then to a wonderful, wonderful ice cream place. They make their own ice cream, and I have to say it was some of the best ice cream I have ever tasted anywhere! I'm so sorry I didn't know about it during the summer.

Afterwards we went back to our house for cake and to open presents, but everyone had so filled up on pizza and ice cream that the cake was barely eaten. Avigail had to leave early-ish (considering this was the girl who's birthday party was to have run twelve hours and had Simcha home after midnight), and we all went to bed early. All that party did us in.

Thursday Tzvia drove up with Avraham to play with Eliyahu and stayed for several hours. It was quite a nice visit actually. When they left I was sorry, but it was also time.

Other than that we've all just been getting through the colds, and packing. Oh, and John and I bought a new washing machine, having sold the old one, and a new mazgan. Mazgan is the Hebrew word for an air conditioner, but it is commonly used for an electrical appliance which both cools and heats the air. What would one call that in English? I am without clue. We took the washing machine home with us the same night - after the sort of balagan (mess, confusion) that often accompanies what in American would be perfectly ordinary errands. And the mazgan is to be picked up in Be'er Sheva after we move, I hope. If it is before we move, we may have to find a place to store it until then. Ugh.

The installer came to hook up the washing machine today. Unfortunately the water was turned off in our neighbourhood (a mistake by the city water guy) so we couldn't wash anything at first. But then when the water came back on, Zechy and I had the best time playing with the new machine. It's fun, and makes the cutest little beeps. I suppose they could become annoying eventually, but I don't imagine they will. It's not like we do laundry every day or anything like that.

Neil's been washing his clothes by hand, but with the new machine I may offer that he can use it. As long as we aren't anywhere nearby at the time. His hand-washing is almost as annoying as anything. It takes up time, and space, and he uses our clean laundry basket for it. Argh! But not to complain about Neil particularly, only it would be easier on everyone if he could try to be a part of the family, and do things *with* us, instead of always going *against* us - as in 'against the flow.'

He also had his cell phone stolen while in Jerusalem on Monday. I'm kind of grateful. The last phone bill was more than a hundred shekels higher because of his phoning Jerusalem and so on. Or maybe it wasn't all him, but he'd already commented on his call volume. I guess we'll find out when the phone bill comes without his calls. At least he was quick, and notified the company immediately so we won't be charged for calls made after it was stolen. Or not much.

Mah od? I don't know. Lots of packing today. We still have no word from the landlord regarding a moving date. Apparently the tenants are still there, and no sign of when they might be leaving. We have to schedule the movers which is a huge pain. We can only guess when we might be able to move in, and then what? So we are asking for the movers to come on November 30th, which is really the last possible day, and haven't heard back yet if that day is possible for them. More things to fret about if I want to. But I don't want to. I am choosing to believe it will all work out somehow. Please, Hashem!

Havva also has to schedule her time off from work for this move. So she is also having to guess what day(s) she will want/need off. Struggle, struggle. It will all work out. Really.

And we have to notify the electric company and the phone company and, and, and . . .*sigh*

Anyway, the next thing for me is to try and get some sleep. It's just after midnight now, and I don't know if tomorrow Alina is coming by to try and practice Hebrew with me. I also don't know if I want her to come or not? Still have packing to do, and often after a visit I have to rest so long it messes up the whole day. Oh, well. Not tonight's problem, certainly.

I don't know when or if I will write again. I mean, I will again someday. But if it will be before or after we move is more than I can guess right now. I'm very anxious and trying not to be to stressed. *Sigh* But packing *is* happening. Tapes *are* getting copied to the computer. I *am* knitting, working on a blanket (forever) and a placemat. Life is working and things are moving in a direction I do like, just not necessarily when and how I think I would like it better. Such is life.

I'm listening to some people yelling outside my window.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06