Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

A hard but satisfying day - 2006-12-21

I'm grateful for: bathroom shelves and kitchen hooks; a radiant space heater in my room; a good hot water heater.

I have to be quick tonight. It's after midnight, and I have to be up for 5:30am to drive Havva to the train in Ashkelon.

Today was a hard day but a very satisfying one. I woke up feeling/doing pretty awful. And, I sat in bed and cried about it a bit. I prayed for help to get through the day, to do Hashem's will and only Hashem's will - not to get all caught up in the million and one things that have to be done that I completely lose sight of priorities or sense or sanity.

I think for the most part I was able to do that. I managed to put together a huge tossed/chopped salad, using up most of the leftover veggies and some collard greens that BatZion gave us a few days ago. I didn't chop the collard greens small enough. But the salad was very well received, and everyone liked it except Havva who complained about being surprized by the celery in it. A few tiny little pieces of celery. What can one do?

I also taught Hans how to fry potato slices. He already knew how to make french fries, I want him to have more options in his potatoes, though. So, fried potatoes, and we all loved them. So much that no one could really have enough even though we made a huge frying pan full. I expect he'll be making them again soon.

I got mountains of laundry done, for what it is worth, because I already have mountains of laundry to do for tomorrow. Part of that is that John didn't put Eliyahu's sheets in the laundry, or tell anyone he had wet his bed today. So instead of having it all done, I've got at least two loads collected already. *sigh*

We got a rug down in the boy's room (extremely cold floors here), a set of shelves for a medicine cabinet up in the bathroom, and I spent a while getting various medicine cabinet items put into it. Hooks up in the kitchen for some utensils and, oh, I can't remember it all. We also got a little bit of the stuff in the yard cleaned up. A very little bit, as John left things in such a state we really couldn't do much of anything. His own fault, we could have done some of the work that now he'll have to do by himself. Tomorrow. It is supposed to rain on Friday.

The guys, Hans and Zechy, tried to collect the chickens and put them in the new chicken tractor that John built, but the dogs chased the chickens and they hid and, well, it all didn't work.

And I am utterly exhausted and in pain, and not looking forward to getting up in maybe five hours to drive for an hour in the cold morning. Of course, I love that time of day more than any other, so it has it's compensations.

I forgot to mention I managed to read/study three of the Hebrew easy reader booklets, and work with Eliyahu on his reading a bit as well. And put Vitamin E oil on Zechy's back. And Zechy and I watched Brighton Beach Memoires (good movie). And, and, and...

I'm sure it never stops. John is snoring next to me. I really, really wish he could have his own, different, room. Not because of the snoring. I couldn't even bear to have him in here with me for a couple of days. Who wants to sleep next to someone who has to be reminded one exists? I don't. But I can't leave him sleeping on the sofa in the salon. It's just not doable. *sigh*

Well, I'm going to try to fall asleep. Not a very exciting day, or diary entry, but there it is. Twenty to one in the morning is not the time for exciting diary entries, it's a time I should have been asleep a while yet. And so, good night.

I'm listening to John snoring.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06