Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Gloopy with the flu and wanting some tea - 2007-01-09

I'm grateful for: The taxes done (Hashem willing); Neil in Jerusalem; lots and lots of bags of tissues in the house.

For anyone who might have been dreading another whiny entry about you know what and you know who, I have good news. I have the 'flu.'

On my fifth bag of tissues in less than 24 hours. I can't drink water, or anything cold, so the night has been unbelievably awful. I'm waiting now for someone to get up so I can have some tea. I'd love to be able to get up and make my own, but that doesn't seem to be happening.

Eliyahu has a weird round red mark on his arm. I want to take him to the dr. to find out what it is, and should we be worried. Israel is full of so many odd and interesting diseases and parasites I can't begin to guess myself. I hope we can actually manage to find a dr. - everyone in the country it seems has this 'flu, and the hospitals and clinics are overflowing with people just wanting to be able to breathe. And of course the whole family here pretty much has it. Eliyahu seems to have been missed, and John.

And I have absolutely no brain function. Neil phoned last night to say he wasn't coming home - yippee! Of course now I have to wonder when he will show up today, but it is so pleasant going to bed and waking up knowing he isn't here.

John and I filled out the 2005 and 2006 U.S. tax forms last night. Wasn't that fun? But in theory we will be getting some money out of the gub'ment. So that's all good.

And Havva says her last day for going into the base is next Thursday. Hurray! Seven more days of having to get her to Ashkelon for the crack of dawn, and seven more days of picking her up there at supper time, screwing up any plans anyone might want to make for the evening. And then it's over! Until someday when Zechy gets his letter, but that should give us a sufficient break to get caught up on some sleep and all.

So, that's the news as of this cold winter's morning. There is no sun coming in through the trecim (can't figure out how to transliterate that,both vowels are the long 'e' sound), and the house is completely quiet. I hope someone gets up soon. I really wish I could make my own tea, but me and hot things, like pouring boiling water? Bad. Very, very bad. *sigh* Worse even than sharp knives, which I have ventured more than a few times lately.

Which leaves me with a funny. Well, I thought it was funny - I don't know if anyone else will. I had an 'M.S. moment' early last night, and managed to whack the back of three fingers against the printer hard enough to bring tears to my eyes. Hans came running at my yell, and what came out of my mouth without thinking was "This is one of those times when I wish I was all the way numb." Damn, one time when an M.S. symptom could actually help, and it's gone away. Okay, maybe not so funny. Maybe it was just that in my gloopy-with-the-flu mental state anything would make me laugh.

That's all.

I'm listening to my clock ticking. I could really get used to this.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06