Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

An uneventful day, the best kind - 2007-01-27

I'm grateful for: getting to sleep earlier (I hope); books, plays, movies and even youtube; things looking up.

10:30 at night and I am in bed and heading for sleep. I hope. Sinuses permitting.

What happened today? Zechy read aloud from the Light Fantastic by Terry Pratchett. I read email, played computer games, listened to audiobooks. At some point after sundown my sister phoned and I told her I couldn't talk. Later on, John brought in the jigsaw puzzle and Zechy and Havva and Simcha and I all had a bit of a go at it. Not much progress but the light wasn't good and we are all sick to some degree.

Oh! Something I didn't mention when it happened (bad me) is that my son Hans found that there is a wikipedia page about him and something he wrote. Pretty cool. Then they decided to take it down (before I got to see it, bummer) - 'cause Hans isn't famous or important enough or something. Hah! I say give the boy time. Anyway, it was a hoot, even if I never got to see the page.

And we found the wikipedia page for my father-in-law. It's incomplete and there is a request for more information. I haven't really thought about adding anything, and I'm pretty sure John hasn't. But someone should, and we are at least unlikely to get it all wrong.

So today was an uneventful day. And if only my left sinus doesn't attack me as it has the last two day, I'll be asleep within second of figuring out a position I can sleep in with my head elevated while not lying on my back.

And, apparently (according to John's report) Neil will be leaving Monday morning. Oh, boy oh boy oh boy oh boy oh boy! I can but hope. And it does help that he is being sociable and friendly when we can't avoid meeting. I really can't wait.

My disability payment shows up tomorrow. Thank you Hashem. Out of which we pay the rent, the electric bill, and hopefully buy a few groceries. We pay the rent every two months, so after paying the rent, next month my disability income can go entirely for bills and things we need. Yippee! The beginning of the end of financial hell. I hope.

What else? Eliyahu listened to half of the audiobook of The Reluctant Dragon, and John read aloud from Shalom Aleichem for Simcha tonight. It is so delightful introducing our kids to these things. And these are the youngest, so then we have to wait for grandkids.

I guess that's all for tonight. No, one more thing. It came up (I don't know why) that none of my kids have ever seen any of the Honeymoooners - I mean the original with Jackie Gleason. So I found some clips on line, just to get them started, and am now getting the entire collection. It will take some time and money, but I think it's worth it. :-)

And on that note, good night.

I'm listening to whatever someone has on in the den

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06