Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Stuff - 2007-02-07

I'm grateful for: working with the dogs; a good day at the shuk; being better still.

I'm up too late again. It definitely is a pain. And, yes, I am still sick. *sigh* Much better, though. I got out with the dogs today - I took Balta and Simcha took Chamudah - and we did some very simple exercises. Couldn't even call it obedience training, I mean, half the time I was figuring out where we could and couldn't work. The back of the house is out, because there are too many interesting things to play with and gnaw on for instance.

I also figured out, eventually, I'm slow, that I don't need to set up any sort of a 'track' because we can just circle the cottage. So that's pretty neat. And it has enough distractions to give us plenty of opportunity to work on the dogs minding us, and nothing too much for either dog. Although if a cat were to wander by, I doubt we could keep a hold on Chamudah's attention, be she never so well trained. Cute, but not terribly bright, honestly.

Balta wasn't too interested, as I said half the time I was figuring out what wouldn't work. But by the end we circled the cottage twice with her being held at a 'heel,' and she definitely seems to understand some of what I want her to do. My biggest challenge, having started this, is to keep it up every day until either one of the older kids can take over for me, or Balta is well enough trained I don't have to worry about her forgetting it all (not likely) or deciding she doesn't have to mind (terribly likely).

I also did some research on Australian shepherds today, and found out nothing new except about the white ears/deafness thing. Apparently the inner ear needs pigment cells to translate sound vibrations into electrical signals. Curious.

It did reinforce the idea that we cannot let the dogs out alone, that Balta has to be fenced or on a lead. Not if she's working with animals, obviously, but we won't be at that stage for a while, if we ever get there.

That was new and different. A good thing. I really, really want to get at least some minimal basic training going with these dogs. Not only will they be easier to live with, they will be happier animals, which is no small thing.

After working with Balta, I had to come inside and collapse. I was not feeling well at all. We needed to get to the shuk, but there was a man from Bezeq (phone company) working on the lines and we didn't think we should leave until he was done. So we waited, and waited, and waited... Finally John phoned the company and found out that there was no need to hang around. So we loaded five of us into the van and went to the shuk.

John, Havva, Simcha, Eliyahu and I. We had a great time and spent way much money. There was more dried kiwi - yeaaa! And we bought some strawberries in bulk, and just lots of good stuff.

When we came home I was all in, nothing left. I came back to my room and collapsed and spent the night in here. It could have been dreadful, but Zechy came in and read aloud to me from We Captured A U-Boat. Lots of fun, full of terribly exciting moments. So far it's been almost entirely about the U-boat, and it's crew and captains. Anyway, it's fun and fascinating.

John and Zechy and I watched another episode of The Honeymooners on the laptop. The big computer is coming home tomorrow. The kids have managed to make the vcr play movies sort of - the picture is for shit, or non-existent, but it's not like we have anything on videotape that they haven't seen over and over again. The dvd player is still completely dead. We have to get a new one for sure, but after I've paid for the computer repairs and Hans' plane ticket, will there be any money left?

Hans' plane ticket. Havva got an email from a friend of hers that the friend is getting married in May. Long and short of it is that Havva has decided to postpone her trip to the U.S., leaving Hans to either go by himself now, or wait indefinitely to go with Havva. Understandably he's decided to go as soon as possible. There isn't really anything to keep him here, and he really wants to go back to the states and start his life.

I'm really sorry to see him leaving - whenever he finally goes. We have to find out about plane tickets and availability. About who can meet him at the airport and how he gets up to Vermont (where he wants to go first), and how he gets back down from Vermont. He wants to visit a bunch of relatives that he hasn't seen since he was a tiny tyke, starting with John's sister Kathy who lives in Virginia Beach - well, not exactly in Virginia Beach but it's the closest place that people have heard of.

Anyway there are a lot of details to take care of before he can get on that plane. *sigh* They are supposed to grow up and go their own way. And I'm glad he is. But - of course I don't like him being thousands of miles away on the other side of an ocean.

I had an all-new grody flashback this morning. It's been a while. I thought I might want to write it here. You know, not *want* to, but need to tell someone, and I haven't got many (any?) other outlets. But for now it seems to be okay.

So that's all for now. I'm going to try and get some sleep. Or at least give my eyes a rest from the screen.

I'm listening to absolutely nothing

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06