Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

A date - 2007-02-08

I'm grateful for: having my computer back, and it's working; another day working with the dogs; feeling slightly more like myself.

The big news today is that we bought Hans a plane ticket for the States. He leaves March 8. I'm not happy or relieved - although this is what he wants and is the right thing. I'm worried sick. I keep thinking of awful things that could happen - and even worse those awful things you can't imagine until they happen. I'm thinking about him losing his money - it's all cash and buying traveller's checks here would just be silly, not to mention expensive. I'm worried about him getting stranded somewhere, getting into trouble with some local police force - oh, you name it.

I keep telling myself that it will all be okay, and that young men have been going off on their own as long as there have been young men, and their mother's worried about them and for the most part they were fine. I worry that if something *did* happen, there is absolutely nothing we could do to help. We can't even send money, as we simply haven't any. *sigh*

He's going to be met by my sister, and with any luck she will be able to stick with him until he is on his way to my sil's house. John's oldest sister. JW, my fil, has already offered to buy him the ticket to come out to him in Kansas City. It's all going to be okay. But, I worry. He hasn't even left yet and I'm worrying. So it goes...

I woke up too early for when I fell asleep. Again. But I managed to get laundry started, work with the dogs, and not bite anyone's head off, pretty much. Today Zechy went out with Simcha and I. First Simcha and I walked the dogs at heel while Zechy watched. Then Zechy took Chamudah, and finally Zechy walked Balta and Simcha Chamudah while I watched and made suggestions. Which really ought to be my role. I'm in no shape to be exercising or working hard with the dogs, but I do know what needs to happen, and can help the children learn about working with dogs as well. I'm just lousy at watching other people do things I'd rather be doing myself. At least when I am physically capable of doing it.

I didn't manage to cook anything, but much laundry got done, including all the cold water/delicate/hang dry stuff. So there is still mountains of sheets, towels, blue jeans and so on. That's life. There will always be mountains of laundry. Until the last kid leaves for college and the dog dies, right?

I got my big computer back today. It's working okay, but I really wanted a new hard drive. I suppose it's probably just as well that I didn't get one - it cost more than they had quoted, and then with Hans' ticket on top of that... well, we're pretty broke again.

I'm still going to spend huge sums shopping tomorrow. I'm buying treats. And dog and cat food. I owe it to myself. The biggest sadness is that I really want to buy some Haagen Dazs ice cream, but there is no way. It would never, ever make it home un-melted. Still frozen. Whatever. And it's winter here! *sigh* In the summer when you'd want the ice cream even more, it wouldn't last five minutes. Ah, well.

I have to try and get some sleep. I can't believe I am still awake at almost 3am, when I am supposed to be up and moving around seven. Maybe I won't - I'll just sleep the day away. Okay, I can dream, can't I? Thank goodness I don't have to be asleep to dream, or I'd be in real trouble.

There was probably more to write about, but with Hans having a ticket and a date, and the time pressing on me, I can't remember what it was anyway.
.
I'm listening to my clock ticking too slowly.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06