Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Whoa - 2007-02-09

I'm grateful for: being happy with my life; a new dvd player and house phone; a chance to rest and relax.

It's almost 2am and I want to go to sleep. No, really. So I am going to hopefully keep this short and sweet. The only problem is there is so much sweet to write about. No, really!

I slept in today. I don't know what happened, after this whole week, today, when I wanted to get up, I couldn't. John couldn't even wake me. So I slept until around ten. Got some work done (laundry, and some stuff on the computer), and managed twice around the cottage with the dogs. They are catching on to what is expected, and although they undoubtedly wish there was more fun involved, and we would let them do what they want, there is no question but that in the long run they will be happier for knowing what is expected and being given more freedom as a result.

Instead of going up north and doing lots of shopping there, John and Simcha and El'yah and I ended up going to Be'er Sheva where we shopped at the nice Zol Po supermarket at the train station and then found the shuk. Oh, my, a huge and wond'rous shuk. We've never been to or seen one like it before. Maybe Havva has, but the four of us haven't. We only had a few minutes, because we were supposed to be driving to Ashkelon to pick up Havva by that time, but we went in anyway. The parking was free because I have the handicapped parking permit, and we did find a space and had a delightful time, short though it was.

John and I bought for Eliyahu a plastic gun that might even last a few days. He breaks them all so quickly, so I wanted to spend a little more and get him one that might not break right away. We found Granny Smith apples (no longer available in the stores), and some juice glasses, and I had a wonderful shawarma in pita which I shared with the kids.

Driving to Ashkelon was a little stressful because we were late and Havva would have to wait. John was being a nut, and I was just all-out exhausted. But we made it, shopped for food, then wandered into an electronics store and ended up buying a new dvd player and a new phone for the house. Two of the (I think) five things we really needed taken care of. We also bought way too many new movies, but I couldn't stop the kids. There was a sale on a bunch of movies - Tailspin, The Aristocats, and Chicken Run are the ones we bought - they were ten shekels each, which is a little less than $2.50 per movie.

We got home a little before dark, so the first thing was for John and Hans and Zechy to move the chickens. We more their coop around the yard so they eat the leaves, eat the bugs, and aerate and fertilize the soil. Next year the yard should be - well, even more green than it is now! :-)

Groceries inside and all settled down, I spent the evening 'being there' for the kids. Zechy read from Idylls of the King to me. Havva asked questions about college applications and dealing with the idiots who seem to man all the phones where people are told to call for help. Hans told me about his plans for returning to the states, and Simcha and Eliyahu just wanted to be with me.

After everyone finally went to bed and to sleep, except me, I've taken a little time to try and get some things done, and also to clear my head a bit. And so now it is after 2am and I am going to get some sleep. Hashem willing.

It was a wonderful day. Spending money we don't have notwithstanding. Nothing from Neil, either. I need to drink more water. And the last bit of the 'flu is still hanging on. Tenacious thing. Tomorrow is the start of the weekend. Well, I guess technically tonight was, but John worked all evening so it doesn't feel like it.

I'm very excited about the way my life is going. It's so good, and it looks as if it is going to get better. I am trying not to get ahead of myself, but it's hard not to get gleeful just in anticipation. If only Hans will be well and Havva find herself someplace she wants to be - then it's all perfect. Okay, the house needs a LOT of work. Too me it's perfect.

Whoa. How did that happen?

I'm listening to my computer humming.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06