Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Jokes - 2007-02-19

I'm grateful for: a new dr., making progress, relaxing? Maybe a little.

Here I am again, with nothing in particular to say. It was a good day overall, although rather trying in a lot of ways.

Havva and John left quite early to drive to Be'er Sheva. John needed to go to one particular Orange store (cell phone service provider) to take Neil's phone off the family plan, and to put Zechy's on. Our phone bill should drop like a rock after this.

Havva got her paperwork taken care of for transferring her license - well, the initial paperwork. Now she has to take a bunch of driving lessons, then take a road test. Then there is some more paperwork. But the process is moving along.

They drove back here for John to drive Eliyahu and me to the dr. appointments. I needed a letter from the dr. saying it was safe for the dentist to work on me. Eliyahu needed a different scrip for the ringworm, which wasn't going away. We saw the same dr., and I think I like him. I think of all the md.s I've had he may be the one I like best. He listens to me, and when what I say to him doesn't make sense he asks more questions, doesn't act like I'm some kind of idiot, or that whatever it is must be *this* because it's what he figures it makes sense to him (even if it doesn't match my experience at all).

After the dr. visit we met up with Havva who had gone to the misrad klitah to get a piece of paper saying that due to her service in the IDF she is entitled to an extension of her olah benefits. In particular, one of her olah benefits is that the gov'ment will pay for her to get an undergraduate degree at university. That is a nice perq. To bad she is the only one of all the kids who is eligible.

She also stopped by an office to help unemployed soldiers, but ended up not going in. I assume she will when she is ready.

Simcha had come with us. We wandered around the mall there for a while, so I now know there is a frame shop there (yeaaa!), and a clothing store that sells Levis. Not so easy to find here. And a good shoe store (Converse all-stars). So a worthwhile scouting expedition. Then we got some hot lunch (shawarma and pizza) and came home.

I was pretty well exhausted, but enjoyed sitting in my mostly repaired rocking chair chatting with Hans and Havva for a while. Crawled into my room eventually and tried to take a nap. 'Tried.' I can't remember all the interruptions - the first one was John phoning from Lod. Long, stupid story and he drove all the way to Lod for nothing as the car wasn't repaired even though they told him it was on Friday. Another time I was disturbed by Hans singing in the hall, and once by Balta scratching at the door. I don't remember them all, but during one 2-1/2 hour nap there were four or five disturbances. When I finally got up I was a bit cranky.

John wasn't home yet, which was disturbing also. He should have been home in an hour and a half at most. That turned out to be a long story as well, but at least he made it home around 6pm. No one had taken care of anything - laundry, supper - while I was trying to sleep so I was feeling a bit frustrated, aggravated. Havva was giving me attitude and there wasn't any of the boxed mac & cheese the kids like in the house. *sigh*

So John got home in the nick of time to take over making some supper, and that changed a lot of attitudes. He read to us from Eliyahu's bedtime story, which is a really fun little book we are all enjoying (I can't remember the title to save my life, though). I got to get some work done on the computer, and even have some fun, and John made popcorn and he and I watched a Dr. Who story from the 2006 season. It was fun.

I've been answering emails and doing a few puzzles, and now it's almost 2:30am. Diana is supposed to phone her around 8am to talk to me. I expect to be cranky, miserable, and dead tired. Unless Hashem has other plans, of course. I can but hope.

What can I say? My life - I am still stressing way more than circumstances can account for. And it does just keep getting better. A lot of progress has been made in making the small house - or one room in the small house - habitable. Havva will be moving in there as soon as she possibly can, which will ease crowding in here as well as give her a lot of much needed space. John picked up some supplies today, and will get some soil tomorrow so I can plant my rose and some geraniums and coleous (sp?). I'm looking for clementine trees. I want four for the back yard. It's all good. And still I stress. I hope it's just a slow process of gradually relaxing into this new, better life. That would be good.

I've had this joke I share with people for years - 'If anyone asks you if you want to be disabled ... you say, "No."' Trust me, it's funny to me. Now I have a new one - if anyone asks if you want to move to a different country (except maybe from the U.S. to Canada? What do you think Ms. Brazil?) - the only answer is if you want to take a vacation in psychosis. In other words, for most people, no. I just need to pare it down now. It's funny. Trust me. ;-)

I must go to bed. Good night.

I'm listening to The Police: Every Breath You Take

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06