Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Bad pain, but good day - 2007-02-26

I'm grateful for: helping two little boys; home-made cake doughnuts; good goats

A bad pain day. So I didn't do much. I read a bit to Eliyahu. He and I did some schoolwork together. I watched a Star Trek episode and the rest of Hans' movie on the television.

Two things of note. Avi, the 5yo who was left home alone before (I'm sure I wrote about it), phoned again. Today it was he and his 4yo brother home alone. John drove over and picked them up to come here, because Simcha was going with him to Netivot. So Hans and Havva and I entertained them, and got them to eat a little, and when their mom phoned I assured her I didn't mind them phoning when they were alone, or coming over here. I even went to far as to apologize for possibly worrying her since she came home and her boys weren't there.

She told me she hadn't been worried, and that she had told Avi NOT to phone here. !!! I reassured her that it was fine, and we didn't mind watching them and she told me there was no reason they couldn't stay home alone when she was a little late. !!!!!! Well, I don't consider two hours a *little* late. And the boys are four and five. I mean, really!

John phoned the moshav social worker, and we have an appointment to speak with her on Wednesday. I have no idea how that will go, we don't know this social worker, who is new - the one we met is on maternity leave. But I really do feel that something should be done.

Simcha has committed to going over to their house everyday at the time the schoolbus is due, which I applaud, but she won't be able to do it every day (like today), and what happens if the mom takes issue with it? Well, that is not today's problem.

I told the boys, as they were leaving, that they were quite welcome to phone and/or come over here any time. I'm afraid that the mom will do something that will make them unwilling to phone -threaten them or something. I don't know, and I have no reason to think she would harm the kids. But I already know she has no clue about what is or is not all right, and Simcha tells me there is no food in the house the kids can eat, either. It's all flour, rice, beans and other things that require preparation. *sigh* I am so afraid of things getting very ugly.

Not enough afraid not to do what I can for those kids, though. They really are a couple of wonderful little boys. I just dread the possible consequences. Which I know is not today's problem and borrowing trouble and all of that. Still... there is no reasoning the fear away.

The other thing is that John finally talked to the guy who is in charge at the zoo, and it appears that we are going to get some number of angora goats and maybe even a pair of pygmy goats. John says it's just a matter of ironing out details. I am very excited. It is also a matter of fencing. But I suppose we will deal with that when we have to. Nothing to be done about it at a quarter to two in the morning.

I am very excited and happy. And anxious to get the goats as soon as possible. The jungle our back yard has turned into will need more than a herd of goats soon. Oy.

I'd better try and get some sleep. I am tired of being in pain. But. It's better than it has been/could be.

I'm listening to Uncle Bonsai: Doug At His Mom's

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06