Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Dentist, and a party - 2007-03-07

I'm grateful for: All of my children; eighteen years with Hans; clean sheets on the bed.

Simcha got to the dentist today. Had her last two baby teeth pulled. Almost every single one of them has fought coming out. The dentist had to really work at one of the two teeth today. And, it hurt her. But, it's over.

The very good news, the dentist says there is enough room in her jaw, so no orthodontia is necessary. Barukh Hashem! It seems that all of my kids dodged that particular bullet. In John's family, all of the kids, he and his siblings, had to have some permanent teeth removed because there just wasn't room enough in their jaws for the teeth. Big teeth, small jaws. Bad news. Most of my kids have inherited John's soft teeth (bad, mine are (or were) very strong), but at least they haven't had to deal with that other problem. Both Zechy and Simcha do have very large teeth, though.

Anyway, I am very glad it is over, and Simcha I assume is even happier. Now that it is over. Her teeth have been causing her pain for some time, and hopefully this will be the end of it.

We went to a kosher McDonald's to get Simcha some ice cream afterward - that was pretty neat. We (or at least I) had been told that McDonald's had the best ice cream. I haven't really enough experience to compare. It was pretty good.

After that John took us all (Hans, Havva, Simcha, Eliyahu and I) to the shuk in Be'er Sheva while he took care of some business as the Orange store. Orange is the name of our cell phone provider, if I haven't mentioned before. It happens that they turned off Zechy's phone instead of Neil's. Not to mention, apparently Neil's phone hasn't been turned off all of this time. We'll be very lucky if someone didn't get hold of the phone and make lots of calls to who-knows-where. *Sigh* Supposedly it is now taken care of.

The Be'er Sheva shuk turned out to be smaller and less fun than I had imagined. Or perhaps that was just because it was hard to get around and shopping with Havva, Hans and the younger kids wasn't very much fun. Okay, shopping with Havva isn't much fun for me. We have very different ideas and styles and, well, not so much fun. We went out to the parking area to wait for John, and when he arrived he and I did a quick turn to pick up some more produce (green peppers, granny smith apples, strawberries) and then we all went home.

We had a going away party for Hans. We watched a couple of Dr. Who episodes from the 2005 season, and had popcorn and soda and cake. Nothing very exciting. We had balloons and all but ... It's all very bittersweet. I can't wait for him just so that this awful time is over, but I don't want him to go. I want him to go, I want him to do whatever is right for him in his life. I just don't want him to be so far away. And he does give the best hugs.

Then John and I watched Walking Tall. Hans had bought it and wanted us to watch it before he left and took it with him, so I felt obligated. It turned out that John and I had seen it in the movie theatre when it opened, but neither of us remembered it. I think the story is fascinating, and would like to know more about the real story it was taken from. But the movie? Eh. The last fight scene is good, but that is really about it.

Hans has finished copying everything he has on the computers here to the laptop he is taking with him. He's sorted through his books and given many of them away. He's set aside boxes of books he wants to have shipped to him - or perhaps he will come back for them someday. He has his clothes packed and ready, gifts for most of the people he knows he will be seeing, and money for the trip. It's all cash, which worries me, but it's not like we can buy traveller's checks here. Hashem should protect him on this trip. Please.

I can't think very much about it. This is too big. And it's tomorrow's problem, so I'm going to try and just do the next right thing (getting into bed, reading a bit, getting some sleep) and let tomorrow take care of itself. I'm going to try.

I'm listening to Dropkick Murphys: The Last Letter Home

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06