Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

'Normal' pain - 2007-03-13

I'm grateful for: walking around the supermarket in my orthopedic half boots; finding the national park by the sea; new books.

I"m up too late again but it's not my fault. Havva came in my room and hung around wanting to talk. I told her I needed to get to bed, and she still hung around. So I am absolved of guilt. *silly grin*

I woke up after John had left for work but before I'd managed eight hours sleep. And I felt it, all day. I was having some bad cramps. It's actually rather strange for me to be having something as normal as cramps after all these years of unidentifiable crippling pain. The pain was still pretty disabling. It was something *normal.* I don't know how many people would understand, but for me that was pretty great.

I spent most of the day curled up in bed or sitting in my chair. I did get a load of laundry started, and all the laundry I'd put out on the line yesterday folded and put away. Megret called in the early afternoon and I ended up being on the phone with her for an hour and a half. Too much. But it was okay. For whatever reason I was able to accept her as being as broken/fucked up as she is, and to tolerate what I usually find so bloody irritating. She isn't getting any better.

I got Havva to start a bath for me, and I was able to get in it just a few minutes after John got home from work. So wonderful to have my hair properly washed. I really wish it could happen more often.

The bath took about all the energy out of me. Instead of going to a movie John and I went to a supermarket where I had scene some shirts I like. Unfortunately when I tried one on the fit was dreadful. Fortunately I found three other shirts - one actually a women's shirt (not a t-shirt) and two men's t-shirts that actually fit me and feel good. This may be the first time that has happened since we moved to Israel... I can't remember that clearly, but it seems likely. We also picked up some random stuff we needed.

We had intended to wander around looking at stores and enjoying some unhurried time, but the cashier was slower than any I have ever seen. She took over twenty minutes to check out the customer in front of us. Seven minutes to check us out, and we had more stuff. It was bad. After waiting in line that long I was too worn out to wander the shops, so we got in the car and drove off with no particular plans.

We ended up turning into Ashkelon, and driving west as far as we could. We got just about to the sea. And we found a national park which may have a beach, that we are planning to visit next Sunday now. Very fun and exciting. I love exploring like that, the things and places you find when just wandering without a destination.

Then we came home. We had only two discordant moments that I can remember. That could be a record for the two of us alone together for the last fifteen years.

We got home around 10:30, so all that has happened since then was talking to children and trying to get to bed. That's next.

Oh! We heard from Jessica and Hans again. Jessica's test was just a colonoscopy. *Phew* Why do children give you a garbled half-story so you can worry yourself to death when it's just a little something like that. Don't get me wrong, I know a colonoscopy is no party, but it's no where near as scary as the things I could imagine from the sketchy information I'd gotten before.

Anyway, it's over and she's home and all is well. Hans has been helping out with the kids and is leaving tomorrow for his aunt Kathie's (John's sister). I hope he has a good time, and I hope it's a short visit. It probably will be. And after that the real adventure begins, when he heads out to the wilds of the midwest. *grin*

I'm really tired, and haven't much to go on about. Tomorrow I have to get up early for blood tests, and then we are going to the library in Netivot, and then to the shuk. And, I have a plan to start walking around the moshav. Hashem willing. I would so like to be walking again. I used to walk so much - all the time. You can't imagine it if you hadn't been there. So, now I have places I can walk, and destinations I can walk to. All I need is to get started, and to be able to keep it up. Please, Hashem! We'll see how it goes.

Oh, and Havva has a job interview at the Netivot library on Thursday. However it turns out, the whole thing is a hoot.

Well, good night.

I'm listening to the dryer running.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06