Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Doing great - 2007-03-30

I'm grateful for: good news from Hans, talking to Abby and hearing Zack; the new rooster, of course; going to bed before 1am.

I'm having a really vicious pain day, Havva, Zechy and John are sick, and so Simcha (the 12yo) is the only healthy vaguely functioning person in the household. We're doing great.

That's not sarcasm. But, great under the circumstances, which is not the same as truly great, you know.

We bought a rooster today, and had a wonderful time watching him and the top hen doing dominance displays. Balta, the big Australian shepherd, saw them jumping up and down at each other and wanted to join in. Too funny.

I had the best time. For the first time since we sold the farm, I got to sit outside and feed my birds. I don't know why I couldn't/didn't before this, when there were just the hens. But today I could and I did, and it was wonderful. Heaven on earth.

At the shuk where we bought the rooster, I saw two really grand looking geese that I desperately wanted to buy and bring home. There is no safe way to do it, yet, but I am not giving up hope. John thinks he can actually fence in the back yard, which if possible makes the geese also possible. And Balta being able to get out and race around the backyard. So many hopes...

It's too late and I'm too tired to type much. I do want to record that Hans phoned today. He walked down to an army recruiter's storefront and took the test. Unsurprizingly he scored extremely high and finished the test in a shorter time than they'd ever seen (at least at that recruiter's place). I don't have to boast that my kids are geniuses, they just keep doing this stuff. :-)

He is planning on getting his Missouri drivers' license, getting a truck from his uncle (John's brother) AJ, and driving back east to visit Jessica and Nick before going off to basic. He hasn't signed all the papers, but at this point those are his plans. He is very happy. I am very happy, and very proud of him. He is doing exactly what he wanted, what he said he was going to do.

Also, his computer is working again. Something to do with the power cord coming out of the wall. I will not roast him ... I will not roast him ... I will not roast him ... Gosh, but it's hard. ;-)

Oh! I forgot to mention that John and I cut Eliyahu's hair. Anyone can see we are not exactly skilled. But he is happier, and it's certainly easier to care for. Photos will appear on fotolog someday, but don't hold your breath.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06