Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

One day - 2007-04-23

I'm grateful for: a bit of peace of mind; faith; new books.

The neighbours are having a party and I can't sleep. Again. Okay, this is just one of the realities of living here, because I can't complain (well, not reasonably) about them having a big loud party before midnight on Independence Day. And it's not their fault that I always have trouble falling asleep and CAN NOT sleep while their music is playing.

Actually it's very good music, and I wish I knew where I could get me some of that. It's a mix of American/English rock/alternative/pop and modern Israeli music, and some odd mix of Moroccan/Israeli rhythm styles and, well, it's good. I just wish they would either play it more quietly or at least while the sun was still up.

I guess today was a good day. I was up way too early but I did eventually succeed in falling asleep again. Woke sometime between ten and eleven because there was an Amazon.com package and the kids and dogs were having a desperately hard time waiting for me to get up.

I told them to let the dogs in, solved one problem, and opened the package. All problems solved, except that this was from our second order, not the first one that went astray, and contained absolutely nothing specifically for Eliyahu. That was just a little bit of a crisis, though, nothing serious.

We watched the Absent-Minded Professor as soon as I had some breakfast and that was great for the younger two. Zechy and I walked out of the movie to do some laundry, but came back. It was fine as we'd seen it before and when you aren't seven, it's not THAT exciting. We did an awful lot of laundry. Actually Zechy did most of it. I did hang some clothes out, fold some clothes, but mostly he did the work.

At some point fairly late in the day I completely crapped out. I didn't actually know it was late in the day, I was so tired I lost track, and was surprised when I hadn't even completely settled in bed and John and Havva were home.

The body is toasted. I'm a bit worried about tomorrow but refusing to think to much about it tonight. We watched a couple of MASH episodes from the last season of MASH. Both of them were surprizingly good. I don't know why I had such low expectations. And I have a new (to me) Maeve Binchy book to read. I expect that is what I will do most of tomorrow, unless I am miraculously feeling all better when we leave for the picnic.

I also discovered today that I haven't a copy of Elton John's Goodbye Yellow Brick Road on my computer or on a disk anywhere. One of my regular online sites doesn't have it and the other one for some reason is having big problems taking credit card information (it's not just me). I'm way bummed about this. It's obviously not a song I can't live without, I've been without it all this time and didn't even notice. But now I've noticed and I want to be able to listen to it. *sigh* I'm sure it will sort itself out eventually.

I have to stop, my hands are getting too tired to keep this up. If I ever fall asleep I will hopefully have only good things to say tomorrow about the annual homeschooler's Yom HaAtzma'ut picnic at the Bar-Yakov's.

I'm listening to whatever they are playing at the neighbour's party. It sounds more Moroccan than anything else right now.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06