Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Phone calls, Hans, goats, Liam Neeson - 2007-05-14

I'm grateful for: three phone calls from Hans even if I didn't get to talk to him on any of them; goats coming home; my new nightshirt (I love it).

I missed a call from Hans last night - I was on the phone and for some reason the call waiting didn't beep or whatever it is that it does. I just don't get what is Hashem's game. Today Hans phoned just after we left the house to go to Be'er Sheva for my acupuncture and reflexology appointments. And again while we were on the road home again. *sigh*

At least he was able to talk to Simcha and Zechy, so he has actually connected with Somebody. In the message he left he sounded quite good - chipper even. I think he could only be happier if he hadn't had to leave us to do this (go in the army). So, I guess it's all good.

John and I are going to try and get him an access code so that he can call us on our cell phones (rather than the U.S. number on the VOIP phone) and we will pay for it. Because he can't dial direct to Israel from a payphone on the base, that's for sure. If we can work it out then he should be able to phone just about any time. John and I have our cell phones with us all the time, or almost.

We got the news today that we can pick up the goats from the zoo on Tuesday. They are not 'giving' them to us, rather they are on long-term/permanent loan. If for any reason the zoo needs them back then we have to return them. Shouldn't be a problem, I'm sure. We have to be prepared when they come home - we have to have a door or gate on the shed so that they can be locked up at night, and we have to shear the angora as soon as we get him home. Should be fun, to say the least...

Tomorrow besides taking me to the new OB, John has to find all the shearing equipment and make sure that it all works. And also take care of the gate.

Tonight Havva and Zechy and I watched the first 2/3 of Les Miserables. Oy! I read the book, going on thirty years ago now. Apparently that was just long enough to forget how utterly miserable it is. I wanted to watch it for the cast - I love Liam Neeson, and alway appreciate Geoffrey Rush. But, honestly, there is more than enough misery in my life without getting an extra helping from a movie.

I was quite impressed with it, it's very well done, and manages on the whole to follow the book quite faithfully while leaving out hundreds of pages of what is basically dross in terms of advancing the story. But, oh! Why would anyone WANT to see a movie to be made miserable?

John and I had a bit of a fight which kept us up late and now it's after 2am, so I'm going to try and get some sleep, instead of finishing the cd I am making for %diary-annanotbob%. I hope that works, I'm too tired to fix it tonight if it doesn't.

Love to all my best buddies, warm affection to everyone else. If you're not sure which you are, assume the best. :-)

I'm listening to Don White: She Sings Me To Sleep With Laughter

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06