Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Goats, Kassams, letters, tired. - 2007-05-16

I'm grateful for: three beautiful goats, and a mostly easy time getting them; being able to walk around pushing the wheelchair; almost nothing on the schedule for tomorrow.

It's 1:15am and I am *so* tired and so much happened today, and I am going to cheat and just copy what I wrote to Hans in my continuing letter to be mailed someday before it becomes heavy enough to cause earthquakes all by itself.

***

I didn�t intend to write you each and every day like some kind of diary, but so much is happening that I want to tell you about. Today was a *very* full day. Havva went off to work at the library, but then got told she wasn�t needed, and as we were coming to pick her up got called in to work for a few hours.

Your abba and Simcha and El�yah and I had left the house intending to go to the shuk, and from there to Jerusalem to meet up with Neil and then to the zoo to get some goats. El�yah was sick, and threw up, so I was concerned that he wouldn�t be up to the trip. He was quite determined to go, however, and as it turned out he did okay, even though he did feel very sick at times and threw up more than once. He rode around the shuk in the wheelchair with me pushing him - it was a VERY short visit to the shuk, I wasn�t very strong and we hadn�t much cash either. We got most of what we need, fortunately, and too many shabbos treats. Heavens forfend!

The trip to Jerusalem was also exciting, we turned onto Kviesh 3 only to run into a total-stop traffic jam. We were able to turn around, and then detoured up to 7, only to find ourselves in another total stop where it joined 3 further up. We didn�t actually get to Jerusalem too much later than we�d planned, though, so Hashem was pushing on the rear bumper when we were moving.

We drove first to Neil�s apartment. He didn�t talk to me or your abba much at all, but was happy to see Simcha and Eliyahu. We gave him all of his stuff that we have found, he gave me back the phone, and gave us a video - don�t even ask me what it�s about or the name. I have no clue. Then we drove to the zoo with Neil. There is was a typical Israeli balagon, your abba couldn�t get hold of the man he needed to talk to about taking the goats, until suddenly there he was demanding that we take them NOW! Your abba was totally psyched about being able to drive the car around the inside of the zoo. They sprayed disinfectant on all of the tires to avoid anything coming in that could hurt the animals. Pretty cool.

So we now have one angora buck who is very good looking, just a year old, and two �dwarf� bucks, also a year old. What Israelis call dwarf can mean either pygmy or miniature, and in this case they are miniature - meaning not much smaller than normal goats. They are all white and also rather sweethearts.

The drive home wasn�t very exciting, I mean besides having goats in the car. When we got home they didn�t want to jump out of the car so we had to drag/push them. Then they didn�t want to move from the area in front of the cottage.

We got the angora into the cottage and sheared him there. Lovely fleece, very soft and clean - the kind people pay good money for in the states. Then trimming the hooves, only the angora�s hooves actually needed it. He needed it bad, though.

We shoved and pushed and dragged them by slow stages into the back yard and eventually into the shed. On the way I fed the birds and got to see the chick. It is really very cute. Tzion (next door neighbour) came over and talked goats at us. Also said we didn�t have to worry about them being stolen because we�re his neighbours and he will take care of us. Your abba said that is because he speaks arabic and is friendly with a lot of the Bedouin around here. I guess we�ll see. I really hope the goats don�t get stolen of course.

We finished watching Les Miserables and also Relax, It�s Just Sex tonight. I�m thinking maybe tomorrow I will just avoid the den altogether. I�m pretty sick of television/movies just now.

I forgot to mention, your abba took today and tomorrow as vacation days from work. I don�t think he�s getting any more sleep, but at least he gets a break from stressing about work for a couple of days. He is out running with the dogs right now. It�s way after midnight, but not quite 1am.

Well, that is pretty much all the news I can think of. I wish you were here, but of course then we�d be so much more crowded. ;-) You know I don�t really care about that.

What am I thinking? I really forgot something important - you may have heard about a Kassam barrage hitting Israel Tuesday. One Kassam landed about 200 feet from David and Leora�s house, and a couple hit nearby but not so close. It was a little bit exciting (Zechy got pictures), but not much. We are all okay here at least. I trust you are okay and doing well in basic by now. I am so sorry we didn�t get to talk, but, Hashem has his ways I guess.

***

I haven't much to add to that. I finished burning a dvd of Romancing the Stone (these days I copy all of my dvd's to have a backup). Zechy asked me to make a cd of the Hedgerow Crawlers for him. I have to find out where I can buy some of their music one day. And, I wrote letters including the one to Hans, and a couple of emails. Now, much as I would like to chatter on, I desperately have to try and get a little sleep. Did I mention I Love my new nightshirt? I should have.

I'm listening to the keys clacking as I type.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06