Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Morning - 2007-05-20

I'm grateful for: being somebody; books sorted and put away; all the fighting soldiers, trying to keep us safe.

This morning I decided that I am somebody. As in 'somebody' ought to let the d*** dog out, and 'somebody' needs to empty the trash in the bathroom.

I didn't get enough sleep, four or five hours, so I don't even know why I am upright. I just don't understand Hashem. I even have a chance to lay back down and take a nap now, but it's not happening.

So I woke up, opened the front door for Balta, who was trying to scratch her way through it, sorted and put away books from the salon project, went outside with just Eliyahu (a crip and a seven-year-old), to hook the goats up to their leads, let them out to graze, empty and refill their water (it gets filthy). On the way to bringing the fresh water we watered the roses, geraniums, the peach tree and a few random plants in the front. Then I got water for the chickens feed bucket (it's a complicated system with a feed bucket that holds water to drip slowly down as the chickens or evaporation remove the water below).

I came inside pretty well all in, but first had a glass of water, rinsed it out, went to the bathroom, rinsed some clothing in there, and came to my room to try lying down. *sigh* It's not like I don't want to sleep or can't use the sleep.

I feel like I should feel satisfied and happy at being able to do so much, instead of just being aware of how utterly miserable I feel physically. I wonder if there is some tipping point where the satisfaction of getting stuff you love done finally has more weight than just feeling like you've been hit and run over by a truck, that then backed up to do it again.

It is four hundred and eighty six degrees here, which doesn't help. I exaggerate, but only slightly. No, really. It's Death Valley only without the colours and with Kassams. And it's only May.

I know, summer heat waves aren't actually any hotter than any other heat waves here. Why doesn't that make me feel any better?

Actually, you probably can't tell but as I am typing here I am talking myself out of my bad mood. The not sleeping will undoubtedly come back to haunt me, but for now maybe I should just take my eltroxin (synthroid) and see what happens next.

I really am proud of what I accomplished today, especially with just Eliyahu helping with the goats and watering. Not bad for a cripple who spends close to 90% of her time in bed.

I have laundry to do. Which means sitting in front of the washing machine so I can drain it manually as necessary. *sigh* NOT my idea of a fun time. I'm not likely to doze off there, either. Well, at least I'll get more of that wonderful feeling of accomplishment.

Two Kassams so far this morning - at least near us. Non-PC things I have learned since moving to Israel #1: The sound of a helicopter gun-ship overhead can give me a warm feeling of reassurance. --Don't knock it until you've had the experience of the booms all day and night for a week straight. Even if they can only shoot them *after* they launch a rocket (or rockets), I know the gun-ships are there to take care of us. Me.

I won't wish all y'all a 'boom'-free day, 'cause you can be pretty sure of having one. But I do wish all my best buddies and good friends at least one opportunity to feel the satisfaction of accomplishing something worthwhile that you love.

I'm listening to whatever Scooby-doo movies Eliyahu has on the television

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06