Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Doing things - 2007-05-28

I'm grateful for: sewing on a button; knitting several rows; making progress in the salon.

I need to be doing laundry, which hopefully will help keep this short. I haven't been up to the 'I did this, I went there' sort of entry I do, and I do have lots of things on my mind but don't really know what to write about.

I wrote a bit of a short story and posted it a few entries back. I don't know if anyone read it. I used to write all the time. I mean, all the time. If I wasn't reading, or doing something which took both my hands (like washing dishes) I was writing. Not that I know if any of it was good. Actually an editor once told me about my poetry that I should stick to prose, so I guess that's an answer.

I never really wrote for other people, I just wrote. Somewhere along the line I started feeling like - if I wasn't making money from my writing then I didn't have a right to take the time from other necessary things. I don't know if I'm expressing that right, but those are the words I have.

I still feel like I don't have the right to take time for writing if it's not contributing to the family somehow. Because it takes time away from other things that *do* contribute to the family. I don't know exactly what I think about it - that's how I feel. Feelings are not thoughts, and don't have to make sense or be reasonable.

Anyway it felt good to write something, even a little thing like that. The two people I read it to seemed to think it was good.

I've also been knitting more and even sewing a bit. I feel I don't dare hope that I will be able to keep it up, leave alone continue to do more of the things that I love and some of which are productive. Part of the reality of having M.S., and partly the reality of living with John, who really does work against my doing things/getting things done.

I'd better get to the laundry. Maybe more later.

I'm listening to King Missile: I'm Sorry

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06