Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Little bits of this and that - 2007-05-31

I'm grateful for: contact with my kids; errands run; miracles.

I heard from Zechy today. He phoned at least three times, I spoke to him twice, I think. I think he's homesick. And lonely.

I talked to Havva briefly. In the middle of chatting my body did one of it's less charming numbers, and I had to run off quite quickly, hollering for help, and leaving Havva probably at a loss and talking to Simcha.

John and I made it to the dr., and got the form filled out for the mortgage application. The bank's insurance company appears never to have heard of M.S., and wants to be reassured that I'm not going to drop dead any time soon.

Also we drove up to Ashkelon and took care of a few things, got a new gas canister for our seltzer-maker and picked up a clock Simcha has been wanting. We couldn't find either what we need to fix the phone or a new phone, but John was able to get a phone number for a service place. We hope.

I spent a good chunk - most - of tonight finishing copying Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone onto the computer. The last tape jammed very close to the end, so I haven't finished it. That is one of the reasons I am copying them. The audio tapes haven't held up very well in multiple moves over the last few years.

Yesterday was a long, long day. We helped David and Alina move, and it was definitely a good thing and the right thing to do. However, we didn't get home until almost midnight. Eliyahu and Simcha were up most of the time, and while they did eat, it wasn't exactly good meals.

Oh, and the washing machine repairman came today and fixed it properly. Yeaaa! I washed a load of clothes tonight just as a sort of test and it's all done. Good. It was the pump, and once the repairman understood that there really was a problem with the machine, he took the thing apart until he found the problem, then replaced the pump. So that's good.

We had a lot of fun with the goats and dogs today. And chickens, but they were just the smallest part. The goats have become more and more playful, which is great except when you are wearing a thin cotton dress and one of them jumps on you. Ouch! Now a dress I've had for over a decade - that I love like you wouldn't believe, has a great tear by the right pocket. *sigh* I don't know whether to fix it, or take the dress apart to make a pattern from it and try to make myself some more of the same. Decisions, decisions.

John, well WE, planted four geraniums in front of the little house. You can't imagine how big geraniums get here in Israel if you haven't seen them. A couple of meters tall and thick enough for quite a hedge. So John dug, and Simcha chose and handed John the plants, and Eliyahu watered them after they were planted, and I selected the sites and gave everyone instructions, 'cause I'm the only one of us four with any experience with planting or transplanting things. Except trees. John has experience with trees.

We have a bunch more geraniums to plant. They were a gift from next-door neighbour Tzion. After this, though, no more geraniums. I want roses. I finally live someplace I can grow roses. You put them in the ground and they grow, no pampering, no special work required. And I have all these geraniums. *sigh* What can you do?

I didn't really get to say anything about moving our friends yesterday, and it was such a full day, with so many moments. I hate the way things slip away from me, 'cause I'm just too tired to write them down. I guess I'd rather have all the experiences and not get them written down than have loads of time for writing and not do things. It's a lousy choice to have to make.

I have almost finished knitting my first square for a blanket for Abigail (my granddaughter). So, if I manage a whole lot more of these, I will make her a blanket. Hashem willing.

Tomorrow we have to meet with the landlord and pay the rent. After that, theoretically, we will be putting up the fence which will make all of our lives so much more pleasant in the times to come. The landlord doesn't want to come out here, so John hopefully will be able to convince him we know where *not* to put the fence. That seems to be the only issue.

John is going to work tomorrow, too, so I should be trying to get some sleep instead of typing here today. It's almost 2am, and John is leaving at 6:30. So I have a full day of being the adult in the house, doing laundry, and coping with heat.

The day we helped them move, Tuesday, was a sharav, a heat wave. Unbelievable heat. I could barely move for the afternoon. Once the sun went down it wasn't so bad. AND the airconditioning in the car stopped working. So it's really a miracle I'm not just lying in bed a complete vegetable. Let's hear it for miracles! :-)

Gotta go.

I'm listening to the fan John installed in my room. It's awfully loud.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06