Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Frustration - 2007-06-08

I'm grateful for: being able to give John a night out; no expected phone calls tonight or tomorrow; new music (always).

I'm waiting for the dryer to finish so that I can put the load from the washing machine into the dryer so that I can start a last load of laundry in the washer and get some sleep. Confusing enough? I try to do all of the washing that needs to go in the dryer (okay, 'needs' may not be quite accurate - but who wants a line-dried towel if you have a choice?) at night. And for things that have to go on the line, I have to have them done for when John can put them out, because after the last week I really can't do it. Sucks to be this crippled sometimes.

We spent huge sums of money today and have nothing to show for it. That's not entirely true. Simcha has a new pair of shoes that she loves and thinks are perfect, I have a new cd by an Israeli artist I'd never heard of before (recommended by the shop owner) and we do have some groceries.

We went out to eat at a restaurant. We'd eaten before at the same place, only as take-out, and the food had been good and the prices reasonable. We figured to sit down inside today, didn't think it would make much difference. WRONG! It cost between three and four times what we expected to pay. They did give us more food than the take-out side would have, but as we couldn't eat it all and just gave the extra to the dogs, that's not much of a plus either.

We went to the store with the refrigerator I wanted. I'd been there, I'd seen it, priced it and then dreamed about it. Today, it wasn't there. A gap in the almost seamless line of refrigerators is all that there was. I tried to describe what I wanted to the salesman, and he said they didn't have it. He asked someone else who said they had never had such a thing. I insisted I had seen it there last month, and finally they found a picture in a catalogue that may well have been the one I wanted. Hard to tell because I could only see the outside. You know how alike refrigerators look on the outside? So now they are ordering the refrigerator to come to the store, then we have to go look at it and see if it is the right one, after which, if it is the right one, they will deliver it to my house.

The catch? I had to pay for it today. For a refrigerator I'm not even sure I want and won't have for probably two weeks at least.

See how quickly I can get back to whining and complaining?

It just felt like another sucky day when I did too much and had so little accomplished at the end of it.

I did get a lot done, despite the phone ringing at 2:30am from the U.S. company John has been doing work at (telecommuting). Despite being woken up at 9am by someone returning a call I had made days ago about something to trivial and irrelevant it hurts to think about it. Despite blazing heat and feeling like crap.

I got a bunch of emails answered and my room picked up a bit (a very little bit). I did manage to go out and shop, and even though parts of it were frustrating and in some ways unsuccessful, we did manage to get Simcha some shoes, food for the next several days, and now have a new refrigerator on order at least.

I've gotten several loads of laundry done, and unpacked three (or four?) boxes that were cluttering up the salon. They were cluttering up the salon because I knew if they weren't I'd never get them unpacked and the stuff in them sorted. One box is canning jars and lids and so on - to be packed away again until someday in the future when I might be canning anything again. Two boxes of pictures, photos, posters and so on, and one of baking dishes, serving trays, and that sort of thing. It is not all put away and dealt with, but it is a step nearer to being done with. And we have a box of stuff, mostly pots and dishes, that we can tell the rebbetzin we have available for anyone needing them.

Another thing it feels that I accomplished is that John was able to go next door and hang out at their barbecue and drink vodka for a while this evening. Men need their male bonding moments, or something like that. It feels like an accomplishment for me because I really do need help to do basic things, so telling him to go even though I had no one here to help if I needed it was kind of an act of faith. It all worked out, so good.

It's not good that he should be tied here, unable to do anything like spontaneously dropping in on the neighbour's barbecue. He got let off his leash, and I survived, but you know, I couldn't do things and that kind of sucked.

We invited David and Leora over to join us for supper of homemade falafel. Leora talked about some falafel she'd had at a wedding party which was the best she'd ever tasted. I don't expect our home made plain-jane falafel to be the best anyone has ever tasted (unless they've never had falafel before), but still it seemed rather rude. It was nice, though, and David helped John to move the chicken coop and we removed all the old eggs so now it's just the three chicks, we've made our decision.

It's hard, because it is quite possible some of the eggs were viable and might have hatched in a few days or a week, but there's a point where it's just not possible to keep everything on hold (like cleaning out the nesting boxes) because some eggs *might* hatch at some indefinite time in the future. Especially when we have a start with three good healthy chicks already.

The dogs went nuts eating the discarded eggs. John was kind of nutty about it, but we all survived.

Okay, I just got the laundry moved, and moved, and started. And I'm too tired and cranky and carrying on today. Enough.

I'm listening to Green Day: Uptight

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06