Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Things - 2007-06-14

I'm grateful for: a successful day at home; postcards sent to Hans; a quiet home.

I've got a hugs collections of quotes on various topic and from various sources, that I end up just sticking wherever, so there are post-it notes, test files, scribbled messages and who-knows-what with this or that quote that I wanted to keep all over the place. I figured I would start putting one in each of my entries here. I don't know why. I hope others find them - or some of them - as good/useful/memorable/worthwhile as I did.

"The true test of intelligence is not how much we know how to do, but how we behave when we don't know what to do."
- John Holt

Okay, that's out of the way. I've been busy, and more than that I haven't been over-doing it - at least not as much as I had been. I'm not actually getting any more done, but I'm not getting any less done. Or do I mean that the other way? There are projects and things I want(ed) to do that have been cluttering up my mind, my room and my life, and I have just surrendered and said if Hashem wants me to do this, it will happen. I can't be held hostage by it any longer.

So, letters that I meant to answer are getting packed away. Sewing stuff is getting put someplace less accessible. Books I'd pulled out to read are getting piled on the bookcase. That's not everything by a long shot, but it's a start.

It would be different if I had even a sort of chance of getting to things, but really, there just isn't enough time, energy, space. Somethings have to give. It is really painful, but, well, it's a relief also. I expect I will feel relieved when I stop fretting about it, anyway.

I'm keeping my on-again-off-again knitting projects out. And will continue copying audio tapes onto the computer, and editing my old diary when time permits. Those last two are long, long term projects which I cannot foresee ending, but I know if I can just keep at them whenever I can, then someday they will be finished. *Sigh*

Things of note that have happened - yesterday we drove up to Rishon L'Tzion so Eliyahu could visit and play with his new friend David. I ended up having a terrific time talking to his mother Elisheva. John chatted with Elisheva's business partner and Simcha mostly just hung around and listened. We had a really good time. Two things about this, one is that I drove a good part of the way up to Rishon L'Tzion. I could drive the whole way because John simply cannot give directions or navigate. For instance at a kekar (roundabout, rotary, traffic circle) I asked him if this was where we needed to turn left (he had indicate a left turn was imminent). He said yes, and as I started to go to the exit which is a left turn, he yelled at me to go straight ahead. Just can't drive with that, you know?

Second thing, while I was talking to Elisheva, I described my dream for this place. It involved interplanted fruit trees, goat & sheep and free range chickens. It's a lovely dream, and given enough money and time it should be achievable. I dunno, in the next twenty years? Anyway, after hearing myself talk about it to Elisheva, I was fired with the urge to really try and make this happen. Not in twenty years, but soon. There are loans available for small business, sizable loans, and we really do know what we are doing for this. Of course there is a huge amount of research to be done, market research, and finding out about Israel's various laws regarding livestock and selling meat and so forth. But, as long as Hashem isn't dead set against it, we can do this. I really want to.

So, today we've started. At least doing some of the research. We have so much to do, it's silly to say 'we've started,' except that we have. It starts by making the commitment, and that we have done. Oy. Hashem should want this too, please. I can't think of anything that would make me happier (besides being able to sell my photos in addition. ;-) )

Okay, I'm really starting to lose steam here. I have the edges of a cold, and it's not horrible yet, but I can feel it there. Taking vitamin C, drinking tea, and now trying to get some sleep. If there is anything worse than a summer cold, I don't want to know about it. Obviously there is lots worse than summer colds, but you know what I mean.

Must stop, must rest. Hopefully more tomorrow.

I'm listening to King Crimson: The Night Watch.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06