Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Tired and happy - 2007-06-16

I'm grateful for: absolutely delicious watermelon at a very good price; feeling rested, at least for a little while; goat-herding dogs.

I actually slept enough today, at least at some points, to feel rested and not like I could drop off any second. Not in the morning when I woke up. This morning was a quick breakfast, hurried dressing, and out the door to buy food before the stores close.

First to Netivot, where I forgot about renting a movie (which didn't turn out to be a problem, we watched Star Trek and the kids loved it. So did I, really). But remembered, thanks to Simcha, to mail the postcards for Hans. Memo to self: Must write to Hans again soon.

Then to Ashkelon. On the way there we passed a moshav selling watermelons right from the field. Made a mental note to stop there on the way back home if possible.

Shopping in Ashkelon went well, better than usual in fact. It wasn't as crowded as expected and we got everything we needed except bandages and soda crackers. It could be much worse.

I drove from there. Getting out of the parking lot - actually just getting out of the parking space - was a nightmare. After that it was no big deal. John actually gave me decent directions when I wasn't sure and we found the moshav no problem. Bought two good sized watermelons as the price was insanely cheap (17 shekel for the first one, 30 for two). I've spent as much as 60 shekel for one watermelon, so that is insanely cheap.

Got home and crawled into bed literally - no, I did that after moving the goats to the other side of the yard - and fell asleep. I woke I think a couple of hours later, and did actually feel kind of awake and alert. I think it's been a long time. Simcha made a cheesecake following my instructions. Very yummy cheesecake, I have to say, but in the future must remember to bake it the day before, as it needs to stand for about 24 hours before eating to be at it's best.

Went outside to feed the chickens, romped a bit with the goats (they are much more mellow, which makes them more fun to romp with than a few weeks ago), romped a bit more with the goats, called the dogs to put the goats in the shed - Chamudah is a *very* enthusiastic goat herder, even if her enthusiasm is not matched by her ability. Who knows, she may be a champion goat-wrassler yet.

Back inside to rest a bit, then Star Trek with pizza puffs and popcorn and Pepsi. And chocolate eggs which do not in any way start with a 'p.' John found the source of the ants that were in Eliyahu's bed last night and took care of that. Then we found more ants behind the dishwasher in the kitchen. That is so much less disturbing than the ants in El'yah's bedroom that they hardly bother me, despite having to clean out the bowls before we could make the cheesecake.

We all went to bed after three Star Trek episodes, including one of my all-time favourites, the Changeling. If anyone else even remembers it by name.

And that is pretty much it. I am tired, I still have a bit of a cold, life is trucking on pretty well, and not too fast or furiously today at least. And tomorrow is shabbos, a day of rest theoretically. Who ever could believe that who has children? Silly people.

But anyway, I'm going to try and get some sleep.

Today's quote: What experience and history teach is this--that people and governments never have learned anything from history, or acted on principles deduced from it.?-G.W.F. Hegel

A cheesecake recipe:

Grandmother Elizabeth�s Cheese Cake

Graham Cracker Pie Crust:

Crush 16 graham crackers (8 double). Mix with 1/3 cup butter and 1/4 cup honey (1/3 cup sugar). Spread evenly in pie tin.


Cheesecake

1 ....... cup (16oz.) cream cheese
2/3 .... cup honey (1 cup sugar)
4 ....... eggs

Beat together. Pour in graham cracker crust.
Bake 25 minutes at 325F (175C). Let cool.

Add a can of cherry pie filling. Let stand 24 hours. Add whipped cream if desired.

***

Me, I used a store-bought crust this time. Doesn't taste as good but much easier, and the whole point is the cheesecake, not the crust. And I don't use the cherry pie filling. Ditto. I think it is the yummiest cheesecake ever, if perhaps a little bit too sweet. If that is possible.

Important notes are that it can rise as much as twice as high as the pie tin before it settles down, and it usually takes about twice as long to bake as the recipe says. Although that could be my oven.

Anyway, I am off to sleep. Good night.

I'm listening to the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, Georg Solti conducting: Tannhauser, Act II "O Furstin."

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06