Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Hard times - 2007-06-25

Where've I been? mostly sulking. Not pouty, undeserved 'poor me' kind of sulking, but I needed a bit of time out to deal with various blows of the last week.

The social services took my grandchildren away from my daughter Jessica and placed them with her adoptive parents. Abby, the 2yo, managed to get a spiral fracture which the dr. SAID was common in children her age, and can happen for any or no reason almost. Combined with her adoptive parents having called the social services to place a child-at-risk complaint because the house wasn't clean enough for them. I've been to the house. It's not winning any awards, but it's well within normal range for any family with two children aged one and two.

I've also been to the adoptive parents house, which probably wins 'house beautiful' awards. A germ would shrivel up and die as soon as look at that kitchen. So we have a good idea where that came from.

While that is going on, Chamudah, that badly misnamed rat-beast that is officially some species of dog (the name means 'sweetie'), killed my last chick. As I stood there screaming 'BAD DOG' at her and having chased her (as much as I can). She stood there and almost unconcernedly chomped down on the chick, then dropped it and walked away.

We're undergoing the worst heat wave since we moved to Israel.

Today I drove into J'lem to see a dr., for a hysteroscopy. You don't have to tell me, I know it's not supposed to feel like someone is jabbing you with an ice pick in there. The dr. was pretty good as long as he was sitting at his desk, sensitive, and smart, making sure I understood the procedure, and why, and about the next procedure (which we were checking to see if it could be done), and all that good stuff. Then once on the table, he jabbed his fingers inside of me, and that was only the beginning.

And the bad news - he believes they won't be able to do that procedure (outpatient) and I will have to have the hysterectomy. But they can't decide that for over a month.

I Just Want This Over Already!

We couldn't even hang around in J'lem afterward. The heat was so bad that the only thing we could do was get back in our air-conditioned car and drive back home.

The weather report said a high of about 36C for this area, and on the drive home (before 1pm) we registered over 38. Tomorrow is supposed to be hotter still, and through Thursday.

Amazingly, I am not a complete basket case already. How much of that is due to the reflexology and how much to living here in Shoqeda (and how much to M.S. random chance) I can't begin to guess, but I am really appreciating being able to do more than I could last year.

***

Interrupted, John is reading Flatland to Eliyahu in here.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06