Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Starting today. - 2007-07-12

I'm grateful for: books, music, movies; Zechy home safe and sound; a wonderful trip to the beach (I didn't go, but I'm grateful by proxy).

Okay, I've figured it out. I'm just not going to write about the last few days and all the shit. Just starting from now.

I'm listening to a new (to me) Norma Waterson cd the definitive collection. It's a treat, but only second to my latest enthusiasm and delight:

In case you hadn't guessed, Zechy is back, and brought all kinds of goodies. Glen Cook and Terry Pratchett books (and hordes and hordes of others as well -non-fiction, Kipling, comics, Pogo, you-name-it)

I've been in the middle of reading The Whereabouts of Eneas McNulty by Sebastian Barry and The Ninety and Nine by William Brinkley (about an LST in WWII) - along with a couple of Hebrew children's books. So now I don't know whether to push on with the books I'm in the middle of or just dive into the biggest collection of fun, light reads I've had in over a year. ... I guess we'll just have to see.

I wrote a single email to a large group of women I stay in email contact with just telling them I've been overwhelmed. Which I have. And got many responses assuming that overwhelmed meant bad things happening. I guess I don't know what to say. I *have* been overwhelmed, utterly. It's the right word. But some is good, some bad, some just life on life's terms, only happening all at once if you know what I mean. There's only so many hours in a day, I have six children, two grandchildren, friends, people I am helping with recovery from, well, whatever (usually including childhood sexual abuse), the husband, brother, sister, this house, the cottage, one too-small car, my health issues, laundry, improving my Hebrew, and that's only the start because if I start getting into details and categories, well, it goes on. And the animals. And juggling a budget while The Husband just walks into a store and spends whatever apparently whenever the mood strikes.

So, yeah, overwhelmed. I don't know if there is a way I could have written it that didn't sound like it has to be bad. Especially since trying to keep up and be fair to people I only have contact with via email is one of the things that gets added to the 'overwhelming' laundry list. I don't now want to write a reassuring email to explain - I was letting them know why I haven't been, and won't be, keeping in touch for a while after all.

Well, I'm too tired to think about it much, anyway.

Zechy has fallen asleep on my bed, completely jet-lagged. It's sweet, but it means I can't fall asleep. *sigh* I'm busy getting to know the four cd's he brought home for himself - the soundtrack to the first Pirates of the Caribbean movie, World Tour of Ireland by Waxies Dargle, a Deep Purple collection, and a cd by Placebo that I haven't actually listened to yet. That's next.

***

Okay, I know I'm a weird person, but Pat Benatar's Hell Is For Children just came on my iTunes shuffle play, and it instantly made me happy and put a smile on my face. It's recognizing a song and liking that - but it's a kind of odd thing when looked at, you know?

Anyway, the Placebo cd, Meds, didn't play quite right. Sadness. I did get to hear one of Zechy's favourite songs off of it, Post Blue, and it is good.

I also read some more of Eneas McNulty while eating the homemade falafel that is our usual Thursday supper. Yum. It would be easier to choose, or not have to choose maybe, if I could still read quickly. I've become a much slower reader. It allows me to actually enjoy some of the books much better, but of course I have time for far fewer books.

Zechy brought Simcha back her roller skates. I don't know if I've previously mentioned it here, but there are no roller skates in Israel. Roller blades, yes, but no skates. So for I don't know how long Diana has been promising Simcha roller skates for her birthday (her last birthday). Finally I (having suddenly become eBay competent in the last few weeks), found a pair of roller skates just what Simcha wanted, bid on them, and had them sent to Jessica's just in time for Zechy to bring them home.

I am not exaggerating when I say they haven't been off her feet except for while she went to the beach with John and El'yah. Zechy slept. Oh, right, I wrote that.

They went to a new beach, a public beach in Ashkelon and according to all reports it is absolutely fantastic. With a playground and breakwaters and, well, the kids had apparently the best time at the sea yet. I am hoping to be able to go with them next week, if I can move about without pain by then. I am being positive and hopeful you see.

I didn't go out to feed the birds because when I did that yesterday afterwards I came in in so much pain it was all I could do to lie in bed and moan and whimper. I didn't even have the energy to cry and howl. Not good.

Dr. phoned today to say I have signs of a uti. He won't know for sure until they finish culturing my pee, sometime next week, but until then I should start taking anti-biotics. Whee, fun. NOT. I don't see how a uti alone could be responsible for all the things I'm dealing with, but then I know so little, really, about how it all works. Or rather, how it doesn't work, in my case.

Oh, and my sister sent another dvd, Be Cool. It's a movie I probably wanted to see all on my own, but I REALLY resent my sister sending it as homework. And that's just what it is, as she will question me about it afterward. *growl* I am sick, sick, sick of it. And it doesn't matter what I say to her. I suppose I'd be more calm about it if it didn't seem to be speeding up - the space of time between movies she demands I see becoming shorter and shorter. Like I have time for this shit.

So far, with the exception of Gross Point Blank (a movie I almost didn't watch due to her incessant demands that I see it), not one of these movies was actually worth the time. Oh sure, fun, entertaining usually, but there are plenty of fun entertaining movies out there which are NOT pointless. And truth, when I go to see a movie for just fun and entertainment, I go for action/adventure. Bruce Willis or Samuel Jackson beating people up and making witty comments (or not so witty, but you know what I mean). Good, mindless fun that is unlikely to give me a headache and is pretty well guaranteed not to preach at me.

So, anyway, I'm pretty well typed out for today.

I'm listening to The Kingston Trio: Where Have All The Flowers Gone?

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06