Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Eh - 2007-08-07

I'm grateful for: Getting a bit wiser as I get older; 'seasonable' weather; letting my kids learn the hard way sometimes.

Eh, just feeling crap is all. It's the heat, and the neighbour's cigarette smoke blowing in my window, and lack of sleep, and bleeding, and all of that shite.

Today wasn't so bad. We got to the shuk, bought a few things, Eliyahu's dentist appointment was cancelled (they hadn't forwarded his file from Be'er Sheva). I forgot the letter for the dr. from the ER dr., so we dashed for home, picked up the letter, brought Simcha to the dr., where we waited for long enough I made the decision not to go to the Jerusalem zoo today. It was a hard decision, but not so hard. It would have been completely mad to go.

So we came back home. Zechy read aloud from Cryptonomicon, which is almost finished. I was a little sick (nothing new, but it still sucks), we watched an Israel movie, Yossi & Jagger. I know it was released in the States, I don't know about anywhere else. A very touching story, a gay commander and his lover in the army in Lebanon. It was quite short - 65 minutes. Anyway, those were the high points, really.

We are aiming to leave here tomorrow at around 8am, John and Havva and I, to drive up to Karmiel. It's about a four hour drive one way. Oy! But needs must, and all that. Zechy and Simcha have both elected to stay here. We haven't talked to Eliyahu about it yet, but I doubt he will want to go if he realizes it means spending eight hours in the car tomorrow. Even if the car is air conditioned.

Before I spent that winter in Florida I never liked air conditioning, and certainly didn't think of it as a necessity. Now I couldn't imagine living without it, and hate the time I have to spend in un-airconditioned circumstances. I was not bred for this.

Anyway, I must try to get some sleep. We called Jessica's today and got to talk with Hans (now going by John, but too bloody confusing if I wrote that here). It was our first real conversation since he went in the army I think. He's mostly catching up on sleep I guess. Trying to figure out what to do with his life now. It was really good to hear from him. And what happens next I really don't know.

Jessica was only on for just a few moments. No news there. Which at least means she hasn't had the opportunity to shoot herself in the foot again. *sigh* Well, I was young and stupid once, too.

I'm going to try to sleep. I don't know why but it's harder with all the bleeding going on. Here's hoping for a better tomorrow, or at least better after tomorrow.

I'm listening to currents.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06