Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Trip to the sea - 2007-10-03

I woke up today not hurting. This is nothing more nor less than a miracle. Miracles are good. :-)

Lessee, yesterday was the trip to the Dead Sea. We got up early enough, I guess, but John was doing things in his back-assward completely insane fashion. I don't know what triggers it, or even if it needs a trigger, since it seems to be his default level of functioning. In any event, instead of us being out the door by eight o'clock, we were still sitting in the driveway at 8:30, while he raced back into the house to do one last thing and lock the door. Eventually I asked Simcha to go find out what was keeping him, she returned a few minutes later to say he's locking up now.

I said 'no he's not' looking at the door where there was no sign of him locking up. She went back up to the house...

I never found out what caused that particular delay or set of delays but the biggie was that he let the goats out. On a day when we were planning to be gone until after sundown! I can't begin to imagine what the man was thinking, if he thought at all. We *never* let the goats out when we will be away from home. *sigh* They had to be got back into the shed, and a day's food gathered for them. And I did remarkably well, I didn't shout or even get angry, although I couldn't avoid rolling my eyes a time or two. I ain't perfect yet.

Finally heading off to Netivot, John was to get money from the bank and take care of Dave's car (that we were borrowing for the day). It needed gas and a tire checked. Meanwhile I went to the shuk with Havva and Eliyahu and David and we bought fruit and veg for the day, looked for a knife, and basically wasted time as at least half the vendors didn't show up.

We ended up going to a supermarket to find supplies for the day. The knife John picked out was way too big for the purpose (cutting up melons and red pepper), but, *sigh*. I didn't argue.

With sufficient supplies, including paper cups and napkins which we'd had at home but not packed. John did the packing, no one checked what he packed, more things missing were discovered later. I can't blame him, we all know how he is, why did no one double-check his packing?

Then we drove to the Dead Sea.

Such a short, simple sentence. I won't even try to detail it. Something around 3.5 hours later we got out of the cars, and headed down to the beach.

I wish I could say we had a good time, but, well, not so much. It was summer-hot at the sea - it's always hot there but somehow we'd not thought of it. It's not a particularly good beach we went to (we went there because it is free, and because we had a good time there last time). Not good largely because to get into the water you have to walk over a lot of rocks. Not smooth rocks either. We didn't think much of that. We'd gotten over the rocks before, we'd get over them again. None of us thought of our houseguest Maura who has incredibly sensitive skin. Poor Maura ended up with her feet burned, with blisters, from the heat of the sun on the rocks.

I feel so bad about it. I had an awful time being in pain, and unable to go into the water, and the flies were just horrible, kept flying into my face, literally bouncing off my lips and nose. Ugh! I was itching all over from bug bites and sweat and tired and cranky and just miserable. I did try to keep my misery to myself but it didn't matter 'cause none of us were having a good time. We left after everyone (except me) had had as much time in the sea as was wanted, and not soon enough for Maura.

John was able to get a sack of ice at the beach which she put her feet on on the way home. I should say that as of last night when I went to bed her feet were doing okay. The blisters were down and nothing seems inflamed or infected. I feel terrible about it, much worse than she seems to, she's used to having extreme reactions to things, and seems to take it pretty much in stride.

The drive home went much better. We split up differently, with all the girls in the car with me, and the boys with John. We made it home in about two hours. It was a lovely drive, particularly the parts where we were ascending from (or descending to) the sea. The road descends over 800 feet in a few miles. It's rock and desert sand and we got to see that iconic image - a camel standing on the top of one of the hills in full profile. That was cool.

Home before full dark, amazingly, which meant a lot. The dogs were thrilled to see us, and ran right up to Maura to greet her first. I think she should move in with us permanently. ;-)

The evening was pleasant. We watched Signs, read books, rested and relaxed. We all agreed that the trip was worth it, but would surely have preferred it had it been more genuine fun.

Being in the Dead Sea is really an experience. After the descent to the sea, where the air pressure is higher than most of us are used to and the smells and sounds change, you walk out into water that is actually pushing you up. You can't swim in it, it's difficult to walk because your feet haven't much contact with the bottom. You can float on your back a bit, it feels really strange though, not at all like floating in normal sea water. The oddest thing I think is how, when your clothes get wet (if you don't go in in a bathing suit) the clothing actually drags you upward. The water stings any small cut or scrape, in addition to some of the body's orifices (I probably spelled that wrong). The boys complained of it burning their butts (euphemism) and some of the girls complain of it burning between the legs - no girls complained of their backsides burning. Hmmm... ;-)

Anyway, that was a full, complete and exhausting day. I don't know why I woke up feeling okay - not that I am complaining - but several hours and some interruptions later I'm back to being my old hurting, cranky, complaining self. Ah, well. I guess I'll take my miracles where I find them.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06