Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Sleep vs. diary - 2007-10-16

I'm grateful for: a near painless root canal; Simcha's first riding lesson; a teensy bit of serenity - it's been a long time.

I've been too busy and too tired to write. Which sucks in some ways, but in others - well, it's good to be busy. I'm actually getting some things done, sorting my photographs and picking out the best ones for a portfolio, catching up a bit on reading, paperwork and sleep. A bit on sleep. Not very much certainly, I'm typing this at 1am.

Today I went in for the somewhat long awaited root canal. The dr. confirmed what I had suspected - if the other dentist had filled the right tooth when he was supposed to, I wouldn't be needing this root canal and all that now. *sigh* It's too late to do anything about it anyway. This dr., sorry dentist, (in Hebrew 'rofah shenayim' tooth doctor), was absolutely amazing. I swear, if all root canals were like this one, no one would ever fear them. The worst part was that after a while my jaw hurt from holding my mouth open so long. Second worst was that the chair was too narrow and had no arms. And since the (it's not novocaine, but I don't know what it is) has worn off, there's been no pain and almost no discomfort.

I'd still rather have a tooth, but I really hope I can only have this dentist again.

It was awful though - my body is not a happy place to be. What with the emotion surges, and my sleep being all screwed up, and along with that my eating schedule just isn't (a schedule). I took a valium (generic equivalent?) before going to the dentist, I have them prescribed specifically for that. I think it helped with the emotionality - I didn't actually cry at the dentist - but knocked me out when we came home. And every part of me was all worn out from the effort of being in that chair.

Well, it's over, and if the fitting for the crown goes as well I will be a happy camper. Holding my breath I am not, but I have some hope after this experience.

Tomorrow I am planning on taking the kids to the zoo, after going to the shuk. Assuming I actually can do it, it will be a horribly full day. Havva is working at the library so she won't be available to help with the driving. She also has a specific date for starting her new job, as a live-in ozeret, or metapelet (I forget which is which) in Petakh Tikvah. In two weeks.

We're all looking forward to it, but I'm dreading it, too. I think she is leaving home for real this time. At least Petakh Tikvah isn't on the other side of an ocean.

I've been meaning to work more with Eliyahu on his reading all week, and so far nothing's happened. Right now I'm shooting for Wednesday. John will be at work, and the house should be relatively quiet.

I'm sure there's more, but I want to try and get some sleep. Whenever it was that sleeping got to be a higher priority than writing in my diary, I missed the shift. I don't think I'm happy about it, or unhappy about it, but I'd like to not have to be making the choice.

I'm listening to Teargas & Plateglass: The Fury of an Aroused Spectator.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06