Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Zoo day - 2007-10-17

I'm grateful for: Ben & Jerry's Cookies & Cream; making it home safely; a quiet at home day tomorrow.

I made it to the shuk. Simcha has a new pair of crocs. I made it to the zoo. Minor miracle, including one stop for gas somewhere I'd never stopped before. I took the wrong turn at first and drove halfway across Kiryat Malachi before I found it.

Made it to where the homeschoolers meet. Minor miracle as it involved me walking up a steep slope. Made it with Zechy's help (he put a hand on my back to help keep me moving). Made it to the sherutim (toilets). Made it back to sit in my wheelchair and chat with other homeschooling moms. We were there for almost four hours, which is amazing all by itself, and the whole time was enjoyable. No awkward moments, I managed to chat with almost everyone I wanted to.

I did get monopolized by one woman, who managed to keep me in one-on-one conversation for over an hour at least. It wasn't bad, and as long as I got to talk to others later it was fine. She's done that before, but I don't know if it is something about me or if she is like that with everyone. Anyway, it wasn't bad conversation.

Managed to leave the zoo almost on time. Actually walked quickly (you can't imagine what sort of a miracle that is, I definitely have a crip's slow unsteady gait) all the way to the car, then collapsed in the car and managed to drive all the way to Ashkelon. From Jerusalem, from the start of rush hour, and we made it in an hour and a half.

In Ashkelon we picked up pizza and ice cream. We all agreed everyone needed a treat. It was a fun day, but the drive was still gruelling. Then half an hour's driving while eating pizza got us home in time for John to take the car and pick up Havva from work.

The ice cream was a real treat, the pizza place - called Pizza Meter, and the pizzas are rectangular and sold by the meter, half-meter or quarter - had a cooler of Ben & Jerry's with a huge variety of flavours. With my crew, finding one flavour was a challenge, but buying more than one tub would have been impossible. You don't want to know how much it costs here.

We ended up with Cookies & Cream, and everyone really liked it. Including me. Yum.

While we were having the ice cream, Jessica phoned with good news. They have signed a lease on a new place in Pennsylvania!! Happy, happy, joy, joy. It sounds like a nice enough place, nothing terrific about it other than it is not in New Jersey, which is terrific enough. It's cheaper than anything in New Jersey, and unless it's in a particularly bad neighbourhood, Hans' prospects for finding work should be much better than they have been.

A good day. I did complain a couple of times after coming home that I don't want to feel the bad any more. Some moments it honestly feels like the way I feel now it wasn't worth the whole good day out. But it was, really. And now I'm a basket case for a day or two. At least it's not summer any more.

I'm listening to my fan. I can't wait 'til I can sleep with it off, I am so tired of it's noise every night.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06