Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Whee - 2007-10-30

I'm grateful for: a good talk w/Hans and Jessica; meeting new people; feeling a wee bit better.

Feeling like something that really ought to be put out of it's misery, I made it to Simcha's riding lesson. Apparently there was a reason I had to be there that had nothing to do with her riding. We met a fellow, it turns out he's from Canada. His wife is disabled - she seems to be able to do some things I can't, and not to be able to do some things that I can. For instance, I can climb the six steps to the house most of the time. Sometimes, like today, it's real agony, but I can do it.

She can't do stairs, but apparently she is quite able to sit up and go places in her (power) wheelchair, while I find sitting up to be more exhausting than walking.

Anyway, we met, we liked one another, and John gave him our phone number. Tonight his wife phoned, and we now have a date to meet on Thursday. Pretty neat. They live in Be'er Sheva, but are looking for someplace rural to buy a house. We suggested they check out our moshav. I don't honestly know if we want them or if they would be a good fit, but that's not my problem anyway. Hashem knows, and they will figure out what's right I'm sure.

The wife told me about a parade in Be'er Sheva on Wednesday. I would really like to go if possible. It is the 90th anniversary of 'history's last major cavalry charge' according to some page or other. It was the charge of the 4th Australian light horse brigade to take Be'er Sheva from the Turks in WWI. It would be fascinating stuff anyway, but since it's local that makes it extra interesting. There will be some horses there from I guess what is modern 'light horse,' it's a military parade, and, well, I want to go and take the kids. Really.

I don't know how Hashem feels about that at all. I'm just breathing and waiting to see.

Simcha's riding lesson went really well again. She had a difficult horse, he kept fighting her, and it was good to see how she handled him. She really did well (for her second riding lesson. A couple of people have commented on how quickly she has become natural at sitting on a horse.) She now has a regular time slot as well, so no more fussing about when or whether she has a lesson. For the forseeable future.

Zechy and I got more books sorted today, finished the books in boxes and now are going through those we put up on shelves in the cottage. They've all suffered from the whether - in the winter everything is so damp - but mostly it's just a little waviness of the pages, that sort of thing. Since we are not collectors really, but readers, it's not a problem.

Zechy and I read a cute story about a pair of socks 'Mr. and Mrs. Sock' in Hebrew. They get separated and eventually reunited, with a bit of danger (a puppy gets hold of and chews a bit on Mr. Sock) thrown in. I am very pleased and impressed at how well we did. Progress, I hope. Progress.

The Canadian couple don't speak Hebrew. I don't know how it is I keep meeting people who's Hebrew is even worse than mine. I think it's curious.

Then in the evening John and I drove a friend on the moshav to pick up a wheelchair. Her husband is an extra-large man (I think he is 6'8", just shy of 2 metres, and has a large build) and couldn't manage in even an ordinary 'wide' wheelchair. It's another interesting thing that I seem to keep meeting wheelchair users.

Simcha worked today after her riding lesson, and then came home and had to finish supper for Eliyahu because of us driving to Netivot after the wheelchair, and eventually just couldn't cope. Zechy was lying down feeling bad in his room. They all survived, we came home, it was just a hard day but I feel bad about it. Not guilty, bad. I think that's a good thing (that I don't feel guilty).

I ended up phoning Hans and Jessica. Talked to Hans and cleared things up for me (he was fine, I was worried he might have been upset about something). Talked to Jessica and caught up on all kinds of things. It was really good. I'm not happy about so many things there, but then it's really not my problem. If Hans and Jessica are okay with their choices and the way things are going, what I need to do is support them and try to be happy for them. I can't help worrying, of course, that's a mom thing, right? But they are both adults, and clearly they are doing okay by almost anyone's measure of all right.

I haven't written much of anything about recent stuff happening with them - it was too painful and I was too sick. I'm feeling a bit better, but it's just not worth going in to. The important thing is that they are okay, they will be okay, and life is working for them. Right.

Mah od? (What else). John and I played a rail game. Clearly he wanted to play, while usually I'm the one who is more eager. He won, by a large margin, and I enjoyed the game by taking on challenging runs and making them work mostly. I haven't brushed my teeth in over two weeks I think. Yuck! I hope I can manage it tomorrow. I managed a shower tonight - couldn't even stand to sleep in the bed with myself. Okay, maybe that's too much information for some people. This is part of my life. Able-bodied people (and some crips) take things like showers and brushing teeth for granted. I can't. The dentists are always telling me an electric toothbrush would help. Sometimes (rarely) I get one to understand that the problem is I can't hold ON to the toothbrush, and having something that vibrates in my hand won't help with THAT.

I keep dental floss by the bed, and once it's wrapped around my fingers I can't drop it, so that works. I want to be all better already so I can stop with this cripple shit. You know (I've been told) I'm just doing it for the attention. Love that attention...

I must sleep. Tomorrow I have to be up in less than seven hours to go to the shuk. And buy a bicycle helmet (for Simcha). And get to the library. And get blood tests. Whee, fun. G'night.

I'm listening to my fan, *Sigh* that I'm stuck listening to all night tonight.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06