Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Laptop - 2007-11-07

I'm grateful for: things working out, mostly; a house full of children; celery beet soup for when I'm home from the hospital.

I'm typing this on my new - used? repaired? renovated? - laptop. We brought the poor old machine in to a fellow in J'lem who repairs them. He had exactly the same machine, oddly enough, and (in John's phrase) he 'slammed them together at high speed.' I'm not sure really what of this computer is from my old machine, and what is from the one he had there already, except the speakers must be from the repair-guy's machine because John told me he'd taken the ones from mine and sold them already.

Anyway it works. Yeaaaa! Just in time, and why John drove all the way to J'lem in the middle of the night (he got back just around midnight) to pick up a laptop computer. Tomorrow at 7:30am I am supposed to be at Barzilai hospital for my long planned/awaited/dreaded surgery. Yuck. I'm really glad it's under a general (anesthetic), but it's worrying. *sigh* And I have no idea what to expect afterward. Not very well prepared, in fact. Well, I really needed to close my mind and not think about it, or I wouldn't have made it to today. And there it is.

Jessica phoned today, hysterical. After a nightmare weekend, and a nightmare move, troubles with the husband, and a nasty virus, she was given some trouble from people associated with DYFS, the New Jersey social services people (who are holding her children hostage). It was NOT a time for comfort and reassurance, so I started asking practical questions - what can you do? What can't you do? What are the consequences if you do (this or that)? What are the consequences if you Don't do (this or that)? I think the best part was that I was pointing out to her repeatedly that these people are NOT on her side, and are NOT interested in helping repair the breach THEY made by taking the kids (in an unlawful manner). And she was truly sucking it up.

This is good because she's been 'good.' She's been doing everything they said to do and - as I told her it would be - every time she performs whatever it is they say is necessary, they change the rules. I can't even write about the latest thing, which is why I didn't write it here. It's too painful. Briefly, DYFS has complete dropped all charges of child abuse and neglect -- BUT, they still managed to manipulate the situation so that they don't have the kids back. It's undoubtedly against the law (as are many other things they've done), and is truly insane. There is no excuse. But regardless of what crazy things these people have done, Jessica has continued being 'compliant' thinking that by doing what they want they will give her her children back.

Well, no.

I believe she finally has been open to hearing that. I suggested, strongly, that she sue them, or at least threaten to sue them. She has a case, a very good one. But the most important thing is if she is threatening them, then they have to be working to keep HER happy, instead of the other way 'round.

Of course this is not a good strategy if you haven't a credible threat, or if they have the ability to hurt you in other ways. But Jessica has a GOOD case, and what more can they do to her? They've got her kids, and she's moved out of state.

This isn't even half the information, I just can't go into it all. I'm still reeling from the previous last stunt they pulled, before this one. So, anyway. Jessica actually listened to me. And might even act on my advice. Hey, I only worked with parents in the system for fifteen years, it's not like I know what I'm talking about or anything, right?

Well, all of this is a great way to not write about my impending surgery, which is fine, but I do want to write a little bit about things. Like today. Which was a total miracle.

There were many things we had to deal with, and a limited amount of time and energy to deal with them. From the start I didn't really believe it would all work out - but I just put one foot in front of the other, did the next right thing, and it all worked out. Miracle!

We started out at the shuk, followed by driving Simcha home so she could work, then Eliyahu to the dentist. Eliyahu had the best visit to a dentist we could have hoped for - it wasn't a check-up, it was the last of the dental work he needed, so that it went so well and quickly was heaven-sent. A while paying for it and scheduling appointments for Simcha (tooth pain) and Zechy (cleaning).

John had to do some work (you know, the stuff he gets paid for), so we went back home, and then there was a decision point, or actually several. What ended up happening is I drove up north to Petakh Tikvah to pick up Havva and the two children she helps with. She's only supposed to be taking care of the 8yo with PTSD, but you know that it never quite works that way. I drove them back here (that's over three hours in the car!). Then supper, getting Eliyahu ready for bed (we also finished the jigsaw puzzle we started on shabbos). Then John took off for J'lem for the computer. I had about given up on getting a bath or soup made before falling asleep, but, the soup happened. And then a shower. John came home with the computer. We sorted out the paperwork, figured out a schedule for the morning, and we're set.

I can't believe we actually managed to fit that all into the day. I can't believe how well everything has been working out lately, really.

I'd like to say more, 'cause it's been a fun and eventful time, but I think I'd best try to get some sleep. Heck, I'll be sleeping all day tomorrow. But, still...

Anyway, I suppose it's all very exciting in it's way. I hope there isn't too much pain (my biggest fear) and that the anesthetic doesn't make me gag (my second biggest fear). I hope that I am able to come home Thursday, early, and I am up to visiting with Tzvia and her kids and puppy, who are coming out then. *sigh* My life is not simple.

Oh, and we are broke and spending money we don't have. And it's not even through the first third of the month. I'll have to freak out about that later, though, I've got way too much on my plate. Hashem makes the money stuff work. He does. I just have to remember that and believe it. *sigh* It's not always easy.

I'm listening to The Kingston Trio: 'Round About the Mountain

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06