Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

It's morning - 2008-01-13

I'm grateful for: a sunny morning; waking up before noon; carrot-fruit juice, yum.

It's morning. I've been updating at night, usually in the wee small hours of the morning, 'cause that's when I can actually think. But I'm alone in my room, and actually planning on trying to get back to sleep as long as it's quiet, so this will (hopefully) be quite short.

I've managed to get on the exercise machine twice a day except Saturday, when I didn't get up shabbos morning. I know it takes a while, and I'm not impatient, but I am wondering when I can expect to see some kind of results from this thing. I'm not doing much, and it hasn't been long, I don't expect anything yet. I have no clue, though, do I hope to see some sort of changes (at least being able to extend the time I exercise) in a week? a couple of weeks? a month? I'm not looking for answers necessarily, I just need to ask the questions.

It's hard to do something that is hard and, hopefully, changing old habits/patterns for new ones, without knowing if/when it should start to make a difference. For the moment I've ben able to keep going Barukh Hashem. I know for me it's a day by day thing. Maybe tomorrow I won't be able to get out of bed, and there it is. Each day I do get on the machine is a good one. :-)

I've also been juicing. It's just a little bit frustrating. I just can't juice only enough for me, there's no way I can get the quantities down so small, so I try to make something other people will drink. The rest of the family, except for D3, seem to have absolutely no enthusiasm for it. *sigh* I need to forget about them and just make the carrot juices I like and that I know have helped me to be better in the past, and somehow learn to live with the extra that may be wasted. That's hard for me, but it's better than making a whole pitcher of a cranberry-blackberry smoothie and then having to drink it myself over days because no one else wants to. It's awfully filling, too, so I can't just drink it down at once.

Should I post my juice recipes? Is anyone interested?

On Friday we made a cheese sauce, which wasn't too bad, but again there was little enthusiasm for it. As I'm not going to have much of it at all, that means it's pretty much wasted. *sigh* Experimenting in the kitchen is hard on me. I have it so deeply ingrained to never, ever, ever throw away food that might be edible...

TH and I also made soup. I tried using the new food processor. For me, it confirmed what I have always felt - that they aren't any better than chopping by hand, nor quicker, and in fact it was just an exercise in frustration. They are great for making falafel, I'm surely not complaining about that. After I don't know how many frustrating attempts to get it to do what I wanted, TH and I went back to chopping, dicing and slicing, not to mention mincing, by hand. The soup turned out great, but so much for my hope of being able to make soups without someone handy to do the sharp knife work. It's a pepper soup that tastes a lot like stuffed peppers. The kids weren't too thrilled, 'cause it was rather more spicey than they are used to, but they'll eat it, and TH liked it.

Me, I don't really care for soups. Isn't that funny? I make terrific soups, and I'll eat them, but I just prefer to eat solid food, given the choice.

I wanted to keep this short, and I have so much more I want to write. Well, maybe later. I'm going to try for a short nap, if possible.

I'm listening to the washing machine filling

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06